17 Free Virginia Life, Annuities & Health Practice Questions: Seniors, Special Needs and Health Insurance Taxation (2026)

14 min read|Updated 2026-10-23

How to Use This Set

This set covers two sections of Prometric's Series 11-01 outline: Insurance for Senior Citizens and Special Needs Individuals (section 15.0, 11%, 15 of the 140 scored items), tied for the largest section, and Federal Tax Considerations for Health Insurance (section 16.0, 2%, 3 items). It covers Medicare, Medicare supplement, long-term care insurance and how each is taxed.

Many questions here cite Virginia's Medicare supplement and long-term care regulations. Answer before you open the explanation. These 17 questions come from LanePrep's Virginia L&H quiz bank.

Practice Questions 1-6: Medicare Coverage, Medigap Rights and Long-Term Care Taxation

What Part B leaves out, when guaranteed issue applies to a supplement, end-stage renal disease eligibility and how long-term care premiums are taxed.

Question 1 (Chapter 8)

Which of the following is a key exclusion under Medicare Part B that agents must disclose to clients when explaining coverage limitations?

  • A) Inpatient hospital stays
  • B) Doctor visits for illness or injury
  • C) Durable medical equipment like walkers
  • D) Routine dental care
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Medicare Part B explicitly excludes routine dental care, along with vision, hearing aids, and long-term care. Inpatient hospital stays are covered under Part A, doctor visits and durable medical equipment are covered under Part B. Agents must inform clients that routine dental is not covered to avoid misunderstandings about benefits.

Question 2 (Chapter 8)

Under Virginia's Medicare supplement regulations, when does the guaranteed issue right for eligible persons apply under 14VAC5-170-105?

  • A) When an individual loses employer group health coverage that was paying secondary to Medicare.
  • B) During the annual Open Enrollment Period from January 1 to March 31 each year.
  • C) Only when the individual turns 65 and enrolls in Medicare for the first time.
  • D) When an individual is enrolled in both Medicare Part A and Part B and loses certain types of health coverage, such as Medicare Advantage plan termination.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Guaranteed issue rights under 14VAC5-170-105 apply when an individual enrolled in Medicare Part A and Part B loses certain health coverage (e.g., Medicare Advantage plan discontinuation, employer group coverage ending) and is eligible to purchase specific Medigap plans without medical underwriting. It is not limited to age 65 enrollment, does not apply during the general Open Enrollment Period (which is for plan changes, not guaranteed issue), and is not triggered solely by losing secondary employer coverage.

Question 3 (Chapter 8)

Which statement accurately describes the tax treatment of premiums for a personally owned long-term care insurance policy in Virginia for state income tax purposes?

  • A) Premiums are fully deductible as a medical expense on the Virginia state income tax return.
  • B) Premiums are never deductible for state income tax, regardless of policy type.
  • C) Premiums receive a dollar-for-dollar tax credit equal to 50% of the amount paid.
  • D) Premiums may be deductible for state income tax purposes if the policy is a qualified long-term care contract under federal guidelines.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Virginia conforms to federal tax treatment for long-term care insurance premiums. Premiums for a qualified long-term care insurance contract (as defined under federal law) may be deductible as a medical expense for state income tax purposes, subject to federal AGI limitations. They are not fully deductible without qualification, never deductible, or eligible for a tax credit. Option D correctly reflects the conditional deductibility based on policy qualification.

Question 4 (Chapter 8)

A 65-year-old Virginia resident is eligible for Medicare due to end-stage renal disease (ESRD). Which statement accurately describes their Medicare eligibility and coverage?

  • A) They are eligible for Medicare Part A immediately but must wait 24 months after dialysis begins to enroll in Part B.
  • B) They are eligible for Medicare only if they are also eligible for Social Security disability benefits.
  • C) They are not eligible for Medicare Part A until they reach age 65, regardless of ESRD status.
  • D) They are eligible for both Part A and Part B starting the third month after dialysis begins.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Individuals with end-stage renal disease (ESRD) are eligible for Medicare Part A and Part B starting the third month after a course of regular dialysis begins, or immediately if they participate in a home-dialysis training program. Eligibility is not dependent on Social Security disability benefits or age 65.

Question 5 (Chapter 8)

A Virginia employer offers a group long-term care insurance plan to its employees. Which statement accurately describes the tax treatment of premiums paid by the employer for this coverage?

  • A) Employer-paid premiums are included in the employee's taxable wages.
  • B) Employer-paid premiums are tax-free to the employee up to a certain annual limit.
  • C) Employer-paid premiums are taxable to the employee only if the employee also receives disability benefits under the plan.
  • D) Employer-paid premiums are not taxable to the employee and are deductible by the employer as a business expense.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

For employer group long-term care insurance, premiums paid by the employer are not considered taxable income to the employee. Additionally, the employer may generally deduct these premiums as a ordinary and necessary business expense. This treatment applies regardless of whether the employee receives benefits.

Question 6 (Chapter 8)

A Virginia resident requires substantial supervision due to severe Alzheimer's disease but does not need assistance with any activities of daily living. Would this individual qualify for benefits under a Virginia-regulated long-term care insurance policy based on cognitive impairment?

  • A) Yes, because substantial supervision due to severe cognitive impairment is a valid benefit trigger under 14VAC5-200-187.
  • B) No, because benefit triggers require assistance with at least two activities of daily living.
  • C) Only if the individual also has a physician's certification of inability to perform their regular occupation.
  • D) No, because cognitive impairment alone never qualifies for long-term care insurance benefits.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Under Virginia's long-term care insurance regulations (14VAC5-200-187), a benefit trigger occurs when the policyholder requires substantial assistance with two or more ADLs due to a loss of functional capacity, OR requires substantial supervision due to a severe cognitive impairment. The individual described qualifies based on the cognitive impairment prong alone.

Get the 25-question sample set by email

Want a full-exam practice set to study offline? Drop your email — we'll send 25 questions across every content area, each with the answer and explanation.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Practice Questions 7-12: Inflation Protection, Benefit Taxation, Part B Cost Sharing and Enrollment

The purpose of inflation protection, how tax-qualified benefits are taxed, Part B coinsurance, delaying Part B and the buyer's guide.

Question 7 (Chapter 8)

Under Virginia's long-term care insurance regulations (14VAC5-200-100), what is the primary purpose of the inflation protection benefit?

  • A) To guarantee that the policy will never lapse due to nonpayment of premiums.
  • B) To waive the elimination period if the insured develops cognitive impairment.
  • C) To increase the daily or monthly benefit amount over time to help keep pace with the rising cost of long-term care services.
  • D) To provide a return of premium upon the death of the insured if no benefits were paid.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

The inflation protection benefit in LTC insurance is designed to increase the benefit amount (daily or monthly) over time to help keep pace with the rising cost of long-term care services. Option A describes a nonforfeiture benefit, not inflation protection. Option B is incorrect as inflation protection does not affect the elimination period. Option D describes a return of premium feature, which is separate from inflation protection.

Question 8 (Chapter 8)

A Virginia resident receives long-term care benefits from a tax-qualified long-term care insurance policy. How are these benefits treated for federal income tax purposes?

  • A) The benefits are taxable as ordinary income up to the amount of the premiums paid.
  • B) The benefits are taxable as capital gains.
  • C) The benefits are only tax-free if the insured is permanently confined to a nursing home.
  • D) The benefits are generally received income-tax free, subject to certain daily limits.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Benefits received from a tax-qualified long-term care insurance policy are generally received income-tax free under federal law, subject to certain daily limits (such as the per diem limit). Option A is incorrect as LTC benefits are not taxable as ordinary income up to premiums paid. Option B is incorrect as the benefits are not taxable as capital gains. Option C is incorrect as the tax-free treatment is not restricted to those permanently confined to a nursing home; it applies to qualified long-term care services received in various settings.

Question 9 (Chapter 8)

A Virginia resident who is 68 years old and enrolled in Medicare Part B incurs $800 in approved charges for durable medical equipment. The beneficiary has already met the annual Part B deductible. What is the beneficiary's typical out-of-pocket cost for this service?

  • A) $0
  • B) $400
  • C) $800
  • D) $160
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

After meeting the Part B deductible, Medicare typically pays 80% of the approved amount for durable medical equipment, leaving the beneficiary responsible for 20% coinsurance. 20% of $800 is $160. Option A is incorrect because cost-sharing applies. Option B is incorrect as it represents 50% coinsurance. Option C is incorrect as it ignores the 80/20 cost-sharing structure.

Question 10 (Chapter 8)

A Virginia resident who is 68 years old and receives Social Security disability benefits is eligible for Medicare Part A. Which of the following statements about their Part A coverage is correct?

  • A) They must pay a monthly premium for Part A because they are under 70.
  • B) They are eligible for premium-free Part A if they or their spouse paid Medicare taxes for at least 40 quarters.
  • C) Part A covers routine dental and vision exams as part of preventive services.
  • D) Part A includes coverage for long-term custodial care in a nursing home.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Part A is premium-free if the individual or their spouse paid Medicare taxes for at least 40 quarters (10 years), regardless of age or disability status. Part A does not cover routine dental, vision, or long-term custodial care. Option A is incorrect because premium-free eligibility is based on work history, not age. Options C and D describe services not covered by Part A.

Question 11 (Chapter 8)

A 65-year-old Virginia resident is eligible for Medicare due to end-stage renal disease (ESRD) and has not yet received a kidney transplant. They enroll in Medicare Part A and Part B. Which statement accurately describes their Medicare coverage for dialysis treatments?

  • A) Medicare Part A covers inpatient dialysis treatments, while Part B covers outpatient dialysis treatments and related supplies.
  • B) Medicare Part A covers the first 90 days of inpatient dialysis treatments per benefit period, after which Part B takes over for ongoing outpatient dialysis.
  • C) Medicare Part B covers 80% of the approved amount for outpatient dialysis treatments after the annual deductible is met, with no coverage under Part A for dialysis.
  • D) Medicare does not cover dialysis treatments for ESRD patients; coverage is provided solely through Medicaid or private insurance.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

For ESRD patients, Medicare Part B covers outpatient dialysis treatments and related supplies, paying 80% of the Medicare-approved amount after the annual Part B deductible is met. Part A covers inpatient hospital stays, but dialysis is typically an outpatient service unless hospitalization is required for complications. Part A does not cover routine outpatient dialysis. Option A incorrectly assigns inpatient dialysis to Part A and outpatient to Part B without noting that Part B is the primary payer for dialysis. Option B incorrectly suggests a 90-day limit under Part A for dialysis, which does not apply as dialysis is not an inpatient service under Part A in this context. Option D is false because Medicare does cover dialysis for ESRD patients as a primary benefit.

Question 12 (Chapter 8)

Under Virginia's Medicare supplement insurance regulations, what information must be included in the buyer's guide as required in 14VAC5-170-150?

  • A) A list of all Medicare supplement policies available for sale in Virginia, including their premiums.
  • B) Information about the policyholder's rights under the policy, including the free look period and guaranteed issue rights.
  • C) The insurance company's financial ratings and claims payment history.
  • D) A comparison of the benefits of each standardized Medicare supplement plan.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

The buyer's guide required under 14VAC5-170-150 must include a comparison of the benefits of each standardized Medicare supplement plan to help consumers make informed decisions. It does not include a list of all policies with premiums (Option A), which is not required; while it includes information about rights (Option B), the primary purpose is the plan comparison. Option C is incorrect because financial ratings and claims history are not required components of the buyer's guide under this regulation.

Practice Questions 13-17: Medicare Advantage, Cognitive Triggers, Suitability, Late Penalty and Medicare SELECT

Enrolling with end-stage renal disease, cognitive impairment as a benefit trigger, long-term care suitability, the Part B late penalty and network supplements.

Question 13 (Chapter 8)

A Virginia resident who is 65 years old and has end-stage renal disease (ESRD) is considering enrolling in a Medicare Advantage (Part C) plan. Which statement is correct regarding their eligibility?

  • A) They are ineligible for any Medicare Advantage plan due to their ESRD diagnosis.
  • B) They can enroll in a Medicare Advantage plan only if they have had a successful kidney transplant.
  • C) They are eligible to enroll in a Medicare Advantage plan, with special rules allowing enrollment outside standard periods in certain circumstances.
  • D) They may enroll in a Medicare Advantage plan, but only during the Annual Election Period (October 15-December 7).
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Individuals with ESRD are generally eligible to enroll in Medicare Advantage plans. While there are some restrictions, they are not categorically ineligible (making A and B incorrect). They can enroll during standard periods like the Initial Enrollment Period or Annual Election Period, and may also qualify for Special Enrollment Periods under specific circumstances (e.g., losing other coverage, moving). Option D is too restrictive by limiting them to only the AEP, whereas C correctly acknowledges their eligibility and the flexibility in enrollment timing under special rules.

Question 14 (Chapter 8)

Under Virginia's long-term care insurance regulations (14VAC5-200-187), which of the following scenarios would qualify an individual for benefits under a tax-qualified long-term care insurance policy due to cognitive impairment?

  • A) The individual requires occasional reminders to take medication but can perform all activities of daily living independently.
  • B) The individual has been diagnosed with mild cognitive impairment but does not require substantial supervision to protect themselves from threats to health and safety.
  • C) The individual experiences age-related memory lapses that do not affect their judgment or safety.
  • D) The individual has severe Alzheimer's disease and requires substantial supervision to protect themselves from threats to health and safety due to cognitive impairment.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

D is correct because, under 14VAC5-200-187, qualification for benefits due to cognitive impairment requires the individual to have a severe cognitive impairment (such as from Alzheimer's disease) that necessitates substantial supervision to protect the individual from threats to health and safety. A is incorrect because occasional reminders without safety risks do not meet the threshold. B is incorrect because mild cognitive impairment without need for substantial supervision does not qualify. C is incorrect because normal age-related memory lapses do not constitute a severe cognitive impairment requiring supervision.

Question 15 (Chapter 8)

During a sales presentation for a Long-Term Care (LTC) policy in Virginia, the agent determines the client has limited income and high debt. Under 14VAC5-200-175, what is the agent's responsibility regarding suitability?

  • A) The agent must ignore the financial data if the client insists on buying the policy.
  • B) The agent must report the client's financial status to the Virginia Bureau of Insurance.
  • C) The agent must complete a Long-Term Care Insurance Personal Worksheet with the applicant to determine if the purchase is appropriate.
  • D) The agent is only required to provide the Outline of Coverage, not assess financial suitability.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Virginia regulation 14VAC5-200-175 requires insurers and agents to use suitability standards to determine whether the purchase of LTC insurance is appropriate. This includes the use of a 'Long-Term Care Insurance Personal Worksheet' which collects information about the applicant's income and assets.

Question 16 (Chapter 8)

A Virginia resident turned 65 and was eligible for Medicare Part B but decided not to enroll because they felt healthy. They had no other insurance. Two full years (24 months) later, they decide to enroll. What is the likely result?

  • A) They can enroll at any time with no penalty.
  • B) They are barred from ever enrolling in Part B.
  • C) They must pay a 10% penalty for each full 12-month period they could have had Part B but didn't, resulting in a 20% permanent premium increase.
  • D) They must pay a one-time $500 fine to the Bureau of Insurance.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Medicare Part B carries a late enrollment penalty of 10% for each full 12-month period that an individual was eligible but did not enroll and did not have creditable coverage. For a 24-month delay, the penalty is 20% (10% x 2), and this penalty is added to the monthly premium permanently.

Question 17 (Chapter 8)

A Virginia senior is considering a Medicare SELECT policy. The agent explains that this policy is a type of Medigap insurance that:

  • A) Only covers prescription drugs.
  • B) Requires the use of a specific network of doctors and hospitals for full benefits, except in emergencies.
  • C) Is only available to individuals under age 65.
  • D) Replaces Medicare Part A and Part B entirely.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Under 14VAC5-170-90, Medicare SELECT is a standardized Medicare Supplement policy that contains restricted network provisions. To receive full benefits, the insured must generally use specific 'preferred providers' (except in emergencies or for certain out-of-area services).

The Mistakes That Cost Marks

Putting services under the wrong Part. Part A is inpatient hospital care. Part B is doctor visits and outpatient services, including durable medical equipment, and it excludes routine dental care.

Forgetting the 20%. After the Part B deductible, Medicare typically pays 80% of the approved amount, leaving the beneficiary 20% coinsurance.

Missing the long-term care triggers. A tax-qualified policy pays when the person needs substantial assistance with activities of daily living or needs substantial supervision because of severe cognitive impairment.

Mistaking the late penalty. The Part B penalty is 10% for each full 12-month period the person could have had Part B without creditable coverage and did not, and it is permanent.

Ruling out Medicare Advantage for ESRD. A person with end-stage renal disease is generally eligible to enroll in a Medicare Advantage plan.

Misdescribing Medicare SELECT. It is a standardised Medicare supplement that uses a restricted provider network, except in emergencies.

Your Next Step

Keep the momentum. Hear these topics explained in the LanePrep Virginia course preview, then test yourself on a mixed set in the free Virginia practice questions hub.

Related guides: how hard the Virginia exam is, the exam format and how to pass on the first try.

Free: 25 Virginia L&H practice questions

Liked this article? Get 25 exam-style questions emailed to you — with full answer explanations, no credit card. Closest thing to studying offline.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Study this topic with LanePrep

Listen to these audio chapters on your commute — no screen required.

Related Articles

Ready to start studying?

Listen to Chapter 1 free — no signup required. Audio lessons you can take anywhere.