17 Free Virginia Life, Annuities & Health Practice Questions: Disability Income, Medical Plans, Group Health and Dental (2026)

14 min read|Updated 2026-10-23

How to Use This Set

This set draws on four sections of Prometric's Series 11-01 outline: Disability Income and Related Insurance (section 11.0, 5%, 7 of the 140 scored items), Medical Plans (section 12.0, 6%, 8 items), Group Health Insurance (section 13.0, 5%, 7 items) and Dental Insurance (section 14.0, 1%, 2 items). It is a broad set, and the common thread is coordination: how benefits, plans and employers fit together.

Several questions rely on Virginia's small employer, portability and continuation rules. Answer before opening the explanation. These 17 questions come from LanePrep's Virginia L&H quiz bank.

Practice Questions 1-6: Disability Income Conditions, Small Employer Plans, Portability and SSDI

Regular physician care, small group rules, special enrollment, renewability, Social Security Disability eligibility and riders on a disability policy.

Question 1 (Chapter 7)

Under Virginia law, which of the following is a required provision in an individual disability income policy regarding the insured's medical care?

  • A) The insured must be hospitalized to receive benefits.
  • B) The insured must seek treatment only from providers within the insurer's network.
  • C) The insured must obtain a second opinion from a specialist within 30 days of disability onset.
  • D) The insured must be under the regular care of a physician to qualify for benefits.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Virginia individual disability income policies, as outlined in 14VAC5-141-60, require the insured to be under the regular care of a physician to receive benefits. This ensures ongoing medical supervision and helps prevent fraudulent claims. Options A, B, and C are not standard requirements in Virginia disability income policies.

Question 2 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia small employer with 8 employees wants to offer health coverage. Which of the following statements is true regarding small employer medical plans under Virginia law?

  • A) The employer is required to cover at least 50% of the premium for all employees.
  • B) The employer can only offer plans that include dental and vision coverage.
  • C) Employees must work a minimum of 30 hours per week to be eligible for coverage.
  • D) Coverage must be guaranteed issue and renewable, regardless of the group's claims experience.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Under Virginia Code §§ 38.2-3431–3437, small employer medical plans must be guaranteed issue (available to all eligible small employers) and renewable (the insurer cannot non-renew based on the group's claims experience). There is no state-mandated minimum employer contribution percentage (A), no requirement to include dental/vision (B), and eligibility is defined by the employer, not a state-mandated hour threshold (C).

Question 3 (Chapter 7)

In Virginia, which of the following events would NOT trigger a special enrollment period for an individual to enroll in or change their health insurance coverage under HIPAA portability rules?

  • A) Moving to a new ZIP code within the same state
  • B) Loss of other health coverage due to job termination
  • C) Marriage
  • D) Birth of a child
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Under HIPAA portability rules in Virginia (§§ 38.2-3430.1–.9), special enrollment periods are triggered by events such as loss of other coverage, marriage, birth, adoption, or placement for adoption. Moving to a new ZIP code within the same state is not a federally mandated HIPAA trigger for special enrollment in the individual market, though it may trigger enrollment in some group or marketplace plans under other rules. Options B, C, and D are standard HIPAA special enrollment triggers.

Question 4 (Chapter 7)

Under Virginia's Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) provisions as outlined in the state code (§§ 38.2-3430.1–.9), which of the following is true regarding the renewal of health insurance coverage in the individual market?

  • A) Insurers can non-renew coverage based on the insured's health status or claims history.
  • B) Insurers must offer renewal only if the insured has maintained continuous coverage for at least 12 months.
  • C) Coverage is guaranteed renewable, meaning the insurer cannot non-renew except for non-payment of premium, fraud, or termination of the plan in the state.
  • D) Renewal is optional for the insurer each year, and they may decline to renew for any reason with 60 days' notice.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Virginia's HIPAA provisions (§ 38.2-3430.1–.9) mandate guaranteed renewability in the individual health insurance market. This means insurers must renew coverage regardless of the insured's health status, claims history, or medical condition, with limited exceptions such as non-payment of premium, fraud or intentional misrepresentation, or if the insurer terminates the entire plan in the state market. Option A is incorrect because health status cannot be a basis for non-renewal. Option B is incorrect as there is no minimum continuous coverage requirement for renewal under HIPAA. Option D is incorrect because renewal is not optional for the insurer under guaranteed renewability rules.

Question 5 (Chapter 7)

In Virginia, which of the following is a required eligibility criterion for an individual to qualify for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits?

  • A) The individual must have a disability that is expected to last at least 6 months.
  • B) The individual must be unable to perform the duties of their own occupation.
  • C) The individual must be receiving Workers' Compensation benefits for a work-related injury.
  • D) The individual must have earned sufficient work credits based on their age and recent work history.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Social Security Disability Insurance has two gates: the applicant must meet the Social Security Administration's definition of disability (inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity because of an impairment expected to last at least 12 months or result in death) and must have earned enough work credits for their age, so D is correct. A states the wrong duration, B describes an own-occupation test that SSDI does not use, and C invents a workers' compensation prerequisite.

Question 6 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia resident purchases an individual disability income policy with both a Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) rider and a Waiver of Premium benefit. After being approved for disability benefits, which statement accurately describes how these two provisions interact?

  • A) The Waiver of Premium benefit is suspended if the COLA rider increases the benefit amount.
  • B) The COLA rider only applies if the Waiver of Premium benefit is not in effect.
  • C) The COLA rider increases the benefit amount annually, and the Waiver of Premium benefit continues to exempt the insured from paying premiums while disabled.
  • D) The Waiver of Premium benefit pays the premium increases caused by the COLA rider.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

The Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) rider increases the monthly disability benefit amount annually (typically tied to an index like the Consumer Price Index) to help the benefit keep pace with inflation. The Waiver of Premium benefit exempts the insured from paying policy premiums while they are receiving disability benefits. These two provisions operate independently and can coexist; the COLA rider does not affect the Waiver of Premium benefit, and vice versa. The Waiver of Premium continues to apply regardless of COLA increases (making A and B incorrect), and it does not pay for premium increases (the insured is not paying premiums at all, making D incorrect). This interaction is standard in individual disability income policies and aligns with Virginia's 14VAC5-141-60 outline.

Get the 25-question sample set by email

Want a full-exam practice set to study offline? Drop your email — we'll send 25 questions across every content area, each with the answer and explanation.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Practice Questions 7-12: Continuation, Coordination, Earnings Limits and Occupation Changes

State continuation coverage, workers' compensation coordination, the earnings limit, waiver of premium after recovery and a change of occupation.

Question 7 (Chapter 7)

In Virginia, what is the maximum duration of continuation coverage available under state law (Virginia Continuation) for a covered employee who experiences a termination of employment, assuming federal COBRA does not apply or has been exhausted?

  • A) 12 months
  • B) 6 months
  • C) 18 months
  • D) 36 months
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

A is correct because Virginia's continuation coverage law (§ 38.2-3541) provides up to 12 months of coverage for terminated employees when federal COBRA does not apply (e.g., for employers with fewer than 20 employees) or after COBRA is exhausted. B is incorrect because 6 months is not the standard duration under Virginia law. C and D are incorrect because Virginia law does not provide 18 or 36 months of continuation coverage; those durations may apply under other circumstances (e.g., disability under COBRA) but not under Virginia's state-specific continuation provision for termination of employment.

Question 8 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia resident with an individual disability income policy suffers a disability due to a non-occupational injury. They are also receiving Workers' Compensation benefits for a separate, occupational injury. How does the individual disability income policy typically coordinate with these Workers' Compensation benefits?

  • A) The disability income policy reduces its benefit by the amount received from Workers' Compensation, regardless of whether the disabilities are related.
  • B) The disability income policy only coordinates with Workers' Compensation if the disability is occupational in nature.
  • C) The disability income policy pays its full benefit in addition to Workers' Compensation benefits because the disabilities are unrelated.
  • D) The disability income policy suspends all benefits until Workers' Compensation payments end.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Individual disability income policies typically coordinate benefits only with Workers' Compensation when the disability for which benefits are claimed is occupational in nature. If the disability is non-occupational (e.g., an off-the-job injury or illness), and the individual is receiving Workers' Compensation for a separate, occupational injury, the two benefits are generally not coordinated. The disability income policy will pay its full benefit based on the non-occupational disability, in addition to any Workers' Compensation received for the occupational injury, as they are considered distinct. This prevents unfair reduction of benefits for unrelated conditions. Option A is incorrect because coordination does not apply across unrelated disabilities. Option B is incorrect because it misstates the rule—coordination is triggered by occupational disability, not avoided by it. Option D is incorrect because benefits are not suspended; each policy pays based on its own eligibility criteria.

Question 9 (Chapter 7)

In Virginia, which of the following statements accurately describes the coordination between an individual disability income policy and Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) when an Additional Monthly Benefit (AMB) rider is attached?

  • A) The AMB rider increases the policy benefit by the full amount of SSDI received.
  • B) The AMB rider is only available if the insured is not eligible for SSDI.
  • C) The AMB rider replaces SSDI benefits dollar-for-dollar.
  • D) The AMB rider provides a benefit that, when combined with SSDI, does not exceed a specified target amount, such as 60% of pre-disability earnings.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

An Additional Monthly Benefit (AMB) rider is designed to coordinate with SSDI and other government benefits. It provides a benefit that, when combined with SSDI, brings the total up to a target percentage (e.g., 60%) of pre-disability income, preventing overinsurance. It does not simply add to SSDI (A), is not contingent on SSDI ineligibility (B), and does not replace SSDI (C).

Question 10 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia resident purchases an individual disability income policy. The policy includes a provision that waives premiums if the insured becomes totally disabled. After a disabling injury, the insured receives monthly benefits and stops paying premiums. Six months later, the insured recovers and returns to work. What happens to the premium obligation under the waiver of premium provision?

  • A) The insured must pay back all premiums waived during the disability period.
  • B) The waiver of premium continues for the remainder of the policy term regardless of recovery.
  • C) The policy is automatically terminated upon recovery, and no further premiums are due.
  • D) The insured resumes paying premiums starting with the next payment due after returning to work.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

The waiver of premium benefit in an individual disability income policy only applies while the insured is disabled and receiving benefits. Upon recovery and return to work, the insured must resume paying premiums. There is no requirement to repay waived premiums, and the benefit does not continue after recovery or terminate the policy. This is standard under Virginia's individual disability income insurance regulations (14VAC5-141-60).

Question 11 (Chapter 7)

Under Virginia's small employer medical plan laws (§§ 38.2-3431–3437), a small employer is defined as having 2 to 50 employees. An employer with 45 employees offers coverage under these laws. Which statement is correct regarding the renewability of the coverage?

  • A) Coverage is renewable at the option of the insurer only.
  • B) Coverage is conditionally renewable based on the employer's claims experience.
  • C) Coverage is non-renewable after the first year.
  • D) Coverage is guaranteed renewable as long as the employer pays the premiums.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Under Virginia's small employer medical plan laws, coverage is guaranteed renewable, meaning the insurer cannot non-renew or cancel the coverage based on the employer's claims experience or health status of employees, as long as premiums are paid. This is specified in § 38.2-3432.1. Options A and B are incorrect because renewability is not at the insurer's option or conditionally renewable. Option C is incorrect because coverage is renewable beyond the first year.

Question 12 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia resident insured under a disability income policy changes their occupation from an office accountant to a commercial high-rise window washer without notifying the insurance company. If they are injured on the job, how will the 'Change of Occupation' provision (§ 38.2-3504(1)) affect their claim?

  • A) The insurer will pay the benefit that the premium paid would have purchased at the more hazardous occupation's rate.
  • B) The claim will be denied entirely due to material misrepresentation of risk.
  • C) The insurer will pay the full benefit but increase all future premiums by 200%.
  • D) The insurer must pay the full benefit because the policy is incontestable after two years.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Under the optional 'Change of Occupation' provision found in Va. Code § 38.2-3504, if an insured moves to a more hazardous occupation, the insurer reduces the benefit to what the premium would have bought for that higher risk. If they move to a less hazardous job, the insurer reduces the premium and refunds excess pro-rata unearned premium.

Practice Questions 13-17: Adoption, Dental Tiers, Overinsurance, Coordination of Benefits and Child Support

Coverage for an adopted child, dental service tiers, two policies against one income, which plan pays first and medical child support.

Question 13 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia resident is covered by an individual health insurance policy. They legally adopt a child and the child is placed in the home on October 15th. Under Virginia Code § 38.2-3411.2, when must the insurer begin covering the adopted child?

  • A) Only after the final decree of adoption is issued by the court.
  • B) On the date the child is physically placed in the home for the purpose of adoption.
  • C) After a 90-day probationary period to ensure the adoption is permanent.
  • D) On the first day of the month following the legal filing of adoption papers.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Va. Code § 38.2-3411.2 states that coverage for an adopted child must be effective from the date of 'placement' in the home of the insured, regardless of whether the adoption has been finalized.

Question 14 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia dental insurance policy categorizes treatments into different levels. An insured requires a root canal (endodontics) and a routine cleaning (preventive). How are these typically categorized in a 'nonscheduled' (comprehensive) plan?

  • A) Both are considered Basic Services.
  • B) Cleaning is Diagnostic/Preventive; Root Canal is a Basic Service.
  • C) Cleaning is a Basic Service; Root Canal is a Major Service.
  • D) Both are considered Major Services because they require a specialist.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

In dental insurance, routine cleanings and exams are Diagnostic/Preventive (often covered at 100%). Endodontics (root canals), periodontics, and fillings are typically 'Basic Services' (often 80%), while crowns and bridges are 'Major Services' (often 50%).

Question 15 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia resident earns $5,000 a month and holds two separate individual disability income policies, each providing a $3,000 monthly benefit. If the insured becomes disabled, how will the 'Relation of Earnings to Insurance' provision (§ 38.2-3504(6)) typically affect the claim?

  • A) The insured will receive the full $6,000 per month as they paid premiums for both.
  • B) The insurers will limit the total benefit to the insured's average monthly earnings ($5,000) and refund the pro-rata portion of the premiums paid for the excess coverage.
  • C) The first policy issued will pay the full $3,000, and the second policy will be voided for overinsurance.
  • D) The insured will receive only 50% of each policy's benefit ($3,000 total) to encourage a return to work.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Under Va. Code § 38.2-3504(6), if the total amount of indemnity exceeds the average monthly earnings of the insured at the time of disability (or average for the two years preceding), the insurer is only liable for a proportionate amount of benefits that equal the earnings. The insurer must return the portion of the premiums paid for the excess coverage.

Question 16 (Chapter 7)

An individual works two full-time jobs in Virginia and is covered by a group health plan at both. If they incur a medical claim, how does the 'Coordination of Benefits' (COB) determine which plan is primary?

  • A) The plan that has been in effect the longest is always primary.
  • B) The plan covering the person as an active employee is primary over a plan covering them as a dependent; if both cover as an employee, the longer-tenured plan is primary.
  • C) The two plans must split the claim 50/50 regardless of tenure.
  • D) The plan with the lower deductible is primary.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Under standard COB rules used in Virginia, the plan that covers the person as an employee is primary. If the person is an employee under both, the plan that has covered the person for the longer period of time is primary.

Question 17 (Chapter 7)

A Virginia court orders a non-custodial parent to provide health insurance for their child. According to Va. Code § 38.2-3407.2, the parent's insurer must:

  • A) Refuse enrollment if the child does not live in the same household as the parent.
  • B) Allow the enrollment of the child without regard to open enrollment season restrictions.
  • C) Charge a 'court-order' surcharge on the premium.
  • D) Only provide coverage if the custodial parent also buys a policy from the same insurer.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Va. Code § 38.2-3407.2 (Medical Child Support) requires insurers to permit a parent to enroll a child who is otherwise eligible for coverage without regard to any enrollment season restrictions if the parent is required by a court or administrative order to provide health coverage.

The Mistakes That Cost Marks

Applying the wrong disability test. Own-occupation policies ask whether you can do your job. Social Security Disability Insurance asks about substantial gainful activity and requires enough work credits.

Letting the waiver of premium outlast the disability. The waiver applies while the insured is disabled. After recovery, premiums resume.

Forgetting the earnings limit. The relation of earnings to insurance provision stops a disability benefit from exceeding the insured's earnings, so stacking two policies does not pay more than earnings.

Mixing up the coordination of benefits order. The plan covering the person as an employee is primary over a plan covering the person as a dependent.

Misfiling dental services. Cleanings and exams are preventive, root canals and fillings are typically basic, and crowns and bridges are typically major.

Treating the small group as optional for the insurer. Small employer coverage is built on guaranteed issue and renewability, not on the group's claims experience.

Your Next Step

Keep the momentum. Hear these topics explained in the LanePrep Virginia course preview, then test yourself on a mixed set in the free Virginia practice questions hub.

Related guides: how hard the Virginia exam is, the exam format and how to pass on the first try.

Free: 25 Virginia L&H practice questions

Liked this article? Get 25 exam-style questions emailed to you — with full answer explanations, no credit card. Closest thing to studying offline.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Study this topic with LanePrep

Listen to these audio chapters on your commute — no screen required.

Related Articles

Ready to start studying?

Listen to Chapter 1 free — no signup required. Audio lessons you can take anywhere.