17 Free California Property & Casualty Practice Questions: Commercial Property, Inland Marine and Pet Insurance (2026)

12 min read|Updated 2026-10-23

How to Use This Commercial Property and Pet Insurance Set

Commercial property is the second-largest block of the Property exam: Commercial Insurance Coverages carry 30% of the Property objectives. Pet insurance has its own small section at 2%, and this set includes the California pet disclosure questions. The rest covers commercial package conditions, vacancy, business income, ordinance or law, crime coverage, businessowners eligibility and crop insurance.

Many of the traps in this set are about triggers: what must happen before a coverage responds.

Practice Questions 1-6: Pet Insurance Disclosures and Business Income Triggers

The California pet insurance disclosure rules and the first business income question. The pet questions reward remembering where a disclosure lives; the business income question rewards remembering the trigger.

Question 1 (Chapter 4)

Under a pet insurance policy in California, which of the following must be disclosed in writing at issuance in at least 12-point boldface type according to Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2(f)?

  • A) The pet's breed and age
  • B) The veterinarian's license number and clinic address
  • C) The annual premium and deductible amount only
  • D) The Department's mailing address, toll-free number, and website; the insurer's/agent's customer-service contact; a statement to contact the Department only after the insurer has failed to resolve the problem; and advice to contact the broker/agent for assistance if one issued the policy
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2(f) requires the consolidated 'Insurer Disclosure of Important Policy Provisions' document to be posted online and delivered in at least 12-point type at issuance. Additionally, written disclosure at issuance in 12-point boldface type must include: the Department's mailing address, toll-free number (§12921.1) and website; the insurer's/agent's customer-service contact; a statement to contact the Department only after the insurer has failed to resolve the problem; and advice to contact the broker/agent for assistance if one issued the policy. Options A, B, and C are not required disclosures under this section.

Question 2 (Chapter 4)

A pet insurance policy in California has a 14-day waiting period for illness coverage. The insured purchases the policy on January 1. On January 10, the pet is diagnosed with a hereditary disorder. The claim is submitted on January 15. Which statement is correct regarding the claim?

  • A) The claim is denied because hereditary disorders are excluded regardless of when they manifest.
  • B) The claim is payable because it was submitted after the waiting period ended.
  • C) The claim is denied because the hereditary disorder manifested during the waiting period.
  • D) The claim is payable because hereditary disorders are always covered if diagnosed after the waiting period.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Under Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2, required disclosures include exclusions for hereditary disorders (among others). Hereditary disorders are a standard exclusion in pet insurance policies and are not covered, regardless of when they manifest or when the claim is filed. The waiting period is irrelevant because the condition is excluded outright. Option B incorrectly assumes the waiting period is the only barrier. Option C incorrectly ties denial to the waiting period rather than the exclusion. Option D incorrectly states that hereditary disorders are covered after the waiting period.

Question 3 (Chapter 4)

A pet insurance policy in California states that claim payments are based on a benefit schedule. What must the insurer disclose regarding this benefit schedule according to Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2?

  • A) The benefit schedule must be available in the policy and via a link on the insurer's website.
  • B) The benefit schedule must be approved by the California Department of Insurance before use.
  • C) The benefit schedule must be the same for all pets regardless of breed or age.
  • D) The benefit schedule must be based on actual veterinary costs incurred.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2 requires that the claim-payment basis (including benefit schedule) be disclosed as a summary description in the policy and via a link on the insurer's website. The benefit schedule disclosure must be made in the policy and online. Option B is incorrect because there is no requirement for CDI approval of the benefit schedule. Option C is incorrect because benefit schedules can vary by breed, age, or other factors. Option D is incorrect because a benefit schedule is a predetermined list of payments for specific conditions, not based on actual costs incurred (which would be an actual cost model).

Question 4 (Chapter 4)

A pet insurance policy in California includes a pre-existing condition exclusion. The insured's pet is diagnosed with diabetes 60 days after the policy effective date. The veterinarian confirms the condition existed prior to the policy's effective date. Which statement is correct?

  • A) The claim is payable because the diagnosis occurred after the effective date.
  • B) The claim is denied because diabetes is a chronic condition, which is excluded regardless of when diagnosed.
  • C) The claim is payable because the waiting period has passed.
  • D) The claim is denied because the condition is pre-existing, as confirmed by the veterinarian.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Under Cal. Ins. Code §12880, a preexisting condition is defined as a condition for which medical advice, diagnosis, care, or treatment was recommended or received within a specified period prior to the effective date of the policy. If the veterinarian confirms the diabetes existed prior to the effective date, it is a preexisting condition and is excluded. While diabetes may also be a chronic condition (which is also excluded), the primary and direct reason for denial is the preexisting condition status. Option A is incorrect because timing of diagnosis does not override preexisting condition status. Option B is misleading because while chronic conditions are excluded, the vet's confirmation of preexistence is the key factor. Option C is incorrect because waiting periods do not apply to preexisting condition exclusions—they are excluded from inception.

Question 5 (Chapter 4)

A pet insurance policy in California provides coverage based on the usual and customary fee schedule. What must the insurer disclose regarding this limitation according to Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2?

  • A) Only that a usual and customary fee limitation applies, with no further detail required.
  • B) The specific dollar cap per procedure must be listed in boldface on the declarations page.
  • C) No disclosure is required if the limitation is applied uniformly to all veterinarians in the state.
  • D) The disclosure must appear in the policy and on the insurer's website, describing how the limitation works.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2 requires that any usual-and-customary-fee limitation be disclosed in the policy and via a link on the insurer's website as part of the claim-payment basis disclosure. Option A is incorrect because the statute requires a summary description, not just the existence of the limitation. Option B is incorrect because while the limitation must be disclosed, there is no requirement to list specific dollar caps in boldface on the declarations page; the 12-point boldface requirement applies only to the insurer's contact information and Department statement. Option C is incorrect because the disclosure requirement applies regardless of uniformity.

Question 6 (Chapter 4)

A bakery in Los Angeles has a Commercial Package Policy (CPP) with the Building and Personal Property (BPP) coverage form and the special causes of loss form. The policy includes business income and extra expense coverage. A power outage caused by a utility company's equipment failure spoils refrigerated inventory, forcing the bakery to close for three days. There is no direct physical damage to the bakery's building or contents. Which statement is correct regarding coverage for the lost income?

  • A) Business income coverage applies because the power outage is a covered peril under the special form.
  • B) Business income coverage applies if the bakery purchased the utility service interruption endorsement.
  • C) Business income coverage applies only if the loss exceeds the policy's waiting period.
  • D) Business income coverage does not apply because there was no direct physical loss to described property by a covered peril.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Business income coverage under the CPP requires direct physical loss to described property by a covered peril. A power outage alone, without direct physical damage to the insured's property, does not trigger coverage. The special causes of loss form does not cover power failure as a peril unless it results from a covered cause like lightning. Utility service interruption is typically excluded and requires a specific endorsement for coverage, which is not mentioned in the scenario. Therefore, no business income coverage applies.

Get the 25-question sample set by email

Want a full-exam practice set to study offline? Drop your email — we'll send 25 questions across every content area, each with the answer and explanation.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Practice Questions 7-12: Vacancy, Eligibility, Crime and Code Upgrades

Vacancy definitions, who qualifies for a businessowners policy, what the books-and-records condition is for, and how crime forms and ordinance or law are handled.

Question 7 (Chapter 4)

A commercial building insured under a Building and Personal Property (BPP) coverage form has been empty for 65 days. During this period, 80% of its total square footage has been unrented and unused, and there is insufficient business personal property to conduct customary operations. A vandalism incident occurs, causing significant damage to the interior. Which statement is true regarding coverage for this loss?

  • A) The loss is fully covered because vandalism is a covered peril under most BPP forms.
  • B) The loss is covered, but the claim payment will be reduced by 25% due to vacancy.
  • C) The loss is covered only if a vacancy permit endorsement was purchased.
  • D) The loss will be denied because the building is considered vacant, and vandalism is excluded after 60 days of vacancy.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Under the Building and Personal Property coverage form, a building is vacant when 70% or more of its square footage is unrented or unused, or when it lacks enough business personal property to conduct customary operations. Once a building has been vacant for more than 60 consecutive days, vandalism, sprinkler leakage, building glass breakage, water damage, theft and attempted theft are excluded entirely, and other covered losses are reduced by 15%. Here the vandalism loss is denied outright (D). A ignores the vacancy provision, B applies the reduction to a peril that is excluded altogether and misstates the percentage, and C describes an endorsement the insured did not buy.

Question 8 (Chapter 4)

A small retail business in California is seeking a Businessowners Policy (BOP). The business operates out of a single story, 15,000 square foot building and has an annual gross revenue of $3,000,000. It is a specialty shoe store. Based on ISO general eligibility rules, which statement is true about this business?

  • A) The business is likely ineligible for a BOP due to its retail nature.
  • B) The business is likely ineligible for a BOP because its gross revenue exceeds the typical threshold.
  • C) The business is likely eligible for a BOP based on its size, revenue, and business type.
  • D) The business is ineligible because specialty shoe stores are explicitly excluded from BOP programs.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

ISO general eligibility rules for a Businessowners Policy (BOP) consider factors such as total floor area (typically under 35,000 sq. ft.), annual gross revenue (often not over $6,000,000 per location), and business type. The shoe store in the scenario fits these criteria: 15,000 sq. ft. is under the 35,000 sq. ft. limit, and $3,000,000 in revenue is under the $6,000,000 limit. Retail businesses like specialty shoe stores are generally eligible, unlike certain excluded types such as automobile-related businesses, bars, financial institutions, or manufacturing operations. Therefore, the business is likely eligible. Options A, B, and D present incorrect reasons for ineligibility based on typical BOP criteria.

Question 9 (Chapter 4)

Under the common policy conditions of a Commercial Package Policy (CPP), what is the primary purpose of the insurer's right to examine the insured's books and records?

  • A) To identify potential criminal activity by the insured.
  • B) To assist the insured with their financial accounting practices.
  • C) To verify the accuracy of information used for underwriting and premium calculation.
  • D) To determine the insured's tax liability for the policy period.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

The 'Examination of Your Books and Records' condition in a CPP grants the insurer the right to audit the insured's records. This is primarily to ensure that the information used to determine the premium (e.g., sales figures, payroll, inventory values) was accurate. If the actual exposure differs from what was reported, the premium can be adjusted. Options A, B, and D describe activities that are not the primary purpose of this specific policy condition. While criminal activity might be incidentally discovered, it's not the main intent. Assisting with accounting or determining tax liability are outside the scope of an insurance policy's purpose.

Question 10 (Chapter 4)

A business has a commercial crime policy. An employee theft occurred three years ago, but the loss was only discovered during the current policy period. The business had a loss-sustained form policy in place at the time of the theft and has a discovery form policy in place now. Which form would most likely respond to this loss?

  • A) The loss-sustained form that was in effect three years ago.
  • B) Neither policy will respond, as the loss occurred too long ago.
  • C) The discovery form that is currently in effect.
  • D) Both policies will share the loss on a pro-rata basis.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

A 'discovery form' crime policy pays for losses that are discovered during the policy period, regardless of when they occurred. A 'loss-sustained form' crime policy pays for losses that occur during the policy period and are discovered either during the policy period or within a specified period (typically one year) after the policy ends. In this scenario, the loss was *discovered* during the current policy period, which is covered by the discovery form. The loss-sustained form from three years ago would not cover a loss discovered outside its policy period plus the extended discovery period. Therefore, the discovery form currently in effect would respond. Option A is incorrect because the loss-sustained form's discovery period would have expired. Option B is incorrect because the discovery form is designed for this exact situation. Option D is incorrect as only one policy type would typically respond based on its trigger.

Question 11 (Chapter 4)

A commercial building in Sacramento is partially destroyed by a fire, a covered peril under its Commercial Property Policy with a Special Causes of Loss form. During the rebuilding process, the city mandates that the undamaged portion of the building must also be demolished and rebuilt to meet current stricter building codes. Which statement is true regarding coverage for the costs associated with demolishing the undamaged portion and upgrading the entire building to current codes under the standard Special Causes of Loss form?

  • A) The standard Special Causes of Loss form will cover all costs, including the demolition of the undamaged portion and the upgrades.
  • B) The policy will cover the demolition of the undamaged portion but not the cost of upgrading to new building codes.
  • C) These additional costs are typically excluded under the standard Special Causes of Loss form's 'Ordinance or Law' exclusion, requiring a specific endorsement for coverage.
  • D) The insurer will pay for the upgrades only if the original fire damage exceeded 50% of the building's value.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

The standard Commercial Property Causes of Loss forms, including the Special form, typically exclude losses resulting from the enforcement of any ordinance or law regulating the construction, use, or repair of property. Coverage for these additional costs, such as demolishing an undamaged portion or upgrading to meet current building codes, usually requires an 'Ordinance or Law' endorsement.

Question 12 (Chapter 4)

The owner of a retail store discovers that an employee has been systematically stealing small amounts of cash from the register over several months, totaling $15,000. The business has a Commercial Crime policy with Employee Theft coverage. Which definition is most relevant to this scenario under the Commercial Crime policy?

  • A) Robbery, as the employee took money from the premises.
  • B) Burglary, as the employee gained unauthorized access to the cash register.
  • C) Theft, specifically employee theft, as it involves the unlawful taking of money by an employee.
  • D) Forgery, as the employee manipulated financial records to conceal the theft.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

This scenario clearly describes 'employee theft,' which is the unlawful taking of money, securities, or other property by an employee. Robbery involves violence or threat of violence, burglary involves forcible entry/exit into a locked premises, and forgery involves fraudulent alteration of documents. While the employee's actions are a form of theft, the specific coverage for an employee's dishonest acts falls under the Employee Theft section of a crime policy.

Practice Questions 13-17: Vacancy Permits, Pandemic Losses, Crop Insurance and Pet Disclosure

Fixes for vacancy exclusions, why a government closure does not trigger business income, the government's role in crop insurance, and one last pet disclosure.

Question 13 (Chapter 4)

A commercial building insured under a Building and Personal Property (BPP) coverage form has been vacant for 75 days. The owner is concerned about potential vandalism and sprinkler leakage. To ensure continued coverage for these perils despite the vacancy, what action should the owner take?

  • A) The owner should install a security system, as this automatically waives the vacancy exclusion.
  • B) The owner should purchase a Vacancy Permit endorsement, which waives the vacancy exclusion for specified perils.
  • C) The owner should notify the insurer, and the insurer will automatically extend coverage for an additional 30 days.
  • D) The owner should ensure at least 30% of the total square footage is used, as this negates the vacancy definition.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

A building is considered 'vacant' when 70% or more of its total square footage is unrented/unused, or there isn't enough business personal property to conduct customary operations. After 60 days of vacancy, perils like vandalism, sprinkler leakage, and building glass breakage are excluded. To waive this vacancy exclusion for specific perils, the insured must purchase a Vacancy Permit endorsement. Option A is incorrect; a security system does not automatically waive the exclusion. Option C is incorrect; notification alone does not extend coverage without an endorsement. Option D is incorrect; the vacancy definition applies when 70% of the square footage is unrented/unused, so using 30% does not negate the definition; it's the 70% unused that triggers it.

Question 14 (Chapter 4)

A hair salon in Los Angeles has a Business Income (and Extra Expense) Coverage Form as part of its Commercial Package Policy (CPP). Due to a widespread virus outbreak, the state mandates a temporary closure of all non-essential businesses, including the salon, resulting in significant lost income. If the salon's policy includes a standard virus/pandemic exclusion, what is the most likely outcome for a claim for lost business income?

  • A) The claim will be covered, as government orders constitute a covered peril under business income.
  • B) The claim will be denied due to the virus/pandemic exclusion, unless specific coverage was purchased for an additional premium.
  • C) The claim will be covered under the extra expense portion of the policy, but not the business income.
  • D) The claim will be covered under the civil authority provision, as the closure was mandated by the state.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Standard Business Income (and Extra Expense) Coverage Forms often include exclusions for losses caused by viruses or pandemics. Without specific coverage purchased for an additional premium, a claim for lost income due to a government-mandated closure stemming from a virus outbreak would likely be denied. The trigger for business income coverage is typically direct physical loss to described property by a covered peril, which a virus outbreak usually does not constitute. Option A is incorrect because government orders are not typically a covered peril without direct physical damage. Option C is incorrect; extra expense also requires a covered peril and would be subject to the same exclusions. Option D is incorrect; civil authority coverage also generally requires direct physical damage to property other than the insured's, caused by a covered peril, which is not the case here.

Question 15 (Chapter 4)

A farmer in California is concerned about potential crop losses due to drought and hail. They are considering participating in the Federal Crop Insurance Program (FCIP). What is the role of the federal government in the FCIP?

  • A) The federal government directly sells and services all crop insurance policies to farmers.
  • B) The federal government acts as a regulator, setting standards but having no financial involvement.
  • C) The federal government subsidizes premiums and reinsures approved private insurance companies that sell and service the policies.
  • D) The federal government provides direct disaster relief payments, making crop insurance unnecessary.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

The Federal Crop Insurance Program (FCIP) operates as a partnership between the federal government and private insurance companies. The federal government, through the USDA's Risk Management Agency (RMA), subsidizes farmer premiums and provides reinsurance to approved private insurance companies that sell and service the policies. This structure encourages farmer participation and ensures the program's financial stability. Option A is incorrect as private companies sell the policies. Option B is incorrect as the government has significant financial involvement. Option D is incorrect; while disaster relief may exist, crop insurance is a proactive risk management tool and often a prerequisite for some relief.

Question 16 (Chapter 4)

A prospective client in California owns a small bar that primarily serves alcohol and has live music. The client is seeking a Businessowners Policy (BOP). Based on standard ISO eligibility rules for BOPs, which statement is true regarding this business?

  • A) The business is likely eligible for a BOP, as bars are now generally included under ISO rules.
  • B) The business's eligibility depends primarily on its annual gross revenue, not its business type.
  • C) The business is likely ineligible for a BOP due to its business type (bar).
  • D) The business would be eligible if it also served food, making it a restaurant.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

While ISO BOP eligibility rules have expanded to include some restaurants and contractors, certain business types remain ineligible. Bars, financial institutions, and automobile-related businesses are typically among those excluded from standard BOP programs due to their higher risk profiles. Therefore, a bar would likely be ineligible. Option A is incorrect. Option B is incorrect; while revenue is a factor, business type is a primary determinant of eligibility. Option D is incorrect; simply serving food does not automatically make a bar eligible if its primary operation remains that of a bar.

Question 17 (Chapter 4)

Under a pet insurance policy in California, the insurer states that claim history may affect future premiums or coverage. Where must this information be disclosed according to Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2?

  • A) In the policy and via a link on the insurer's website, as part of the claim-payment basis disclosure.
  • B) As a limiting provision (like deductible or co-insurance) in the policy and online.
  • C) In the consolidated 'Insurer Disclosure of Important Policy Provisions' document, posted online and delivered in at least 12-point type at issuance.
  • D) Only in the benefit-schedule disclosure in the policy and online.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Cal. Ins. Code §12880.2(f) requires the consolidated 'Insurer Disclosure of Important Policy Provisions' document to be posted online and delivered in at least 12-point type at issuance. This document includes disclosures about whether claim history affects coverage or premium. Option A describes the claim-payment basis disclosure (§12880.2). Option B describes limiting provisions, which are part of §12880.2 but not the specific location for claim history effects. Option D is incorrect; benefit-schedule disclosure is separate.

The Mistakes That Cost Marks

These are the slips the questions above are built to catch:

  • Forgetting the trigger. Business income coverage needs direct physical loss to described property by a covered peril. A power outage or a government order alone does not meet it.
  • Misapplying the vacancy rules. Vacancy is judged by the share of the building that is unrented or unused, and after the stated period certain perils are excluded. A vacancy permit endorsement is the fix.
  • Confusing discovery and loss-sustained crime forms. A discovery form responds to losses discovered in the policy period.
  • Assuming code upgrades are included. Ordinance or law costs are excluded from the standard form and need an endorsement.
  • Misreading businessowners eligibility. Size and revenue matter, but so does the type of business. Some types, such as bars, are generally not eligible.
  • Mixing up pet disclosure locations. Some pet disclosures are made in the policy and online; others must appear in a particular type size at issuance. Read which document the question names.

Your Next Step

Mark the questions you missed, reread the explanation for each and return to those topics in the audio chapter. Then take the course preview and work through the rest of the topic sets on the free California P&C practice questions hub.

For the exam format and the published pass rates, read how many questions are on the exam and how hard it is.

Free: 25 California P&C practice questions

Liked this article? Get 25 exam-style questions emailed to you — with full answer explanations, no credit card. Closest thing to studying offline.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Study this topic with LanePrep

Listen to these audio chapters on your commute — no screen required.

Related Articles

Ready to start studying?

Listen to Chapter 1 free — no signup required. Audio lessons you can take anywhere.