17 Free Massachusetts Life & Health Practice Questions: Accident & Health Types of Policies (2026)

13 min read|Updated 2026-10-23

How This Set Fits the Exam

This set covers the types of health and disability policies. On the Massachusetts Accident, Health, or Sickness outline, Types of Policies is Section I of the general knowledge content and carries 16 scored items, the largest block of that exam.

The questions run across disability income, business coverages, group and worksite plans, long-term care, Medicare supplement and tax-advantaged accounts. The exam keeps asking the same thing: which product fits this person, and what does it pay?

Practice Questions 1-6: Business Coverages, AD&D, COBRA and Group Plans

Business overhead expense, accidental death exclusions, COBRA, worksite plans, key employee disability and HSAs.

Question 1 (Chapter 4)

A small business owner in Massachusetts buys a business overhead expense (BOE) disability policy. Which of the following expenses would typically be covered under this policy if the owner becomes totally disabled?

  • A) The owner's lost salary and personal living expenses.
  • B) The cost to hire a temporary replacement for the owner's role.
  • C) Business expenses such as rent, utilities, and employee salaries.
  • D) Buyout funds to purchase the disabled owner's business interest.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Business overhead expense (BOE) insurance is designed to cover the ongoing operating expenses of a business when the owner becomes disabled and cannot work. These expenses include rent, utilities, employee salaries, and other fixed costs necessary to keep the business running. It does not cover the owner's lost salary (that is covered by individual disability income), nor does it fund a buyout (that is business disability buyout insurance). While it may indirectly support hiring help, BOE specifically covers overhead, not replacement wages.

Question 2 (Chapter 4)

Which of the following is a standard exclusion found in most accidental death and dismemberment (AD&D) policies?

  • A) Loss resulting from a car accident while wearing a seatbelt.
  • B) Loss resulting from participating in a company-sponsored softball game.
  • C) Loss resulting from a workplace accident covered by workers' compensation.
  • D) Loss resulting from an illness such as a heart attack.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

AD&D policies only cover losses that result directly from accidents, not from illness or disease. A loss due to a heart attack or other medical condition is explicitly excluded because it is not accidental in nature. Options A, C, and D describe accidental events that would generally be covered unless other specific exclusions (like intoxication or illegal activity) apply. Workers' compensation coverage does not exclude AD&D benefits; both may be payable for the same incident.

Question 3 (Chapter 4)

Under COBRA, a Massachusetts employee who experiences a reduction in hours that leads to loss of group health coverage may continue their coverage for how long?

  • A) Up to 29 months
  • B) Up to 18 months
  • C) Up to 36 months
  • D) Indefinitely, as long as premiums are paid
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

COBRA continuation coverage allows qualified beneficiaries to maintain group health coverage after a qualifying event. A reduction in hours that results in loss of coverage is a qualifying event for the employee. The maximum coverage period for this event is 18 months. Twenty-nine months may be available if the beneficiary is disabled and meets Social Security disability requirements. Thirty-six months applies to other qualifying events such as the death of the covered employee, divorce, or loss of dependent status. Coverage is not indefinite; it is limited to the maximum period unless extended due to disability.

Question 4 (Chapter 4)

A worksite employer-sponsored health insurance program is best characterized by which of the following features?

  • A) It is an individual policy purchased directly from an insurer with no employer involvement.
  • B) It is a group health plan offered through an employer, often with premiums paid via payroll deduction.
  • C) It is a government-funded program like Medicaid that is administered at the workplace.
  • D) It is a voluntary insurance product that only covers accidental death and dismemberment.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Worksite employer-sponsored insurance refers to voluntary or core benefits offered at the workplace, typically through payroll deduction, and is a form of group insurance. While employees may elect to participate, the coverage is made available through the employer's sponsorship and often involves group rates and administrative support. It is not an individually purchased product without employer involvement (A), nor is it a government program (C). While AD&D may be offered at the worksite, worksite programs are not limited to that coverage and often include medical, disability, and other benefits (making C incorrect).

Question 5 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts business owner purchases a key employee disability income policy on their top engineer. If the engineer becomes disabled and the benefit is paid, how is the benefit treated for tax purposes assuming the business paid the premium?

  • A) The benefit is taxable income to the business.
  • B) The benefit is tax-free to the business.
  • C) The benefit is taxable income to the disabled engineer.
  • D) The benefit is partially taxable based on the engineer's salary.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

In a key employee disability income policy, the business is both the policy owner and the beneficiary. When the business pays the premium, any disability benefit received is considered taxable income to the business because the premium was deducted as a business expense. The benefit is not paid to the disabled employee, so options B and D are incorrect. The benefit is not tax-free to the business, making A incorrect.

Question 6 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts resident is comparing health plans and wants one that combines a high deductible with a tax-advantaged savings account to pay for qualified medical expenses. Which of the following best describes this arrangement?

  • A) A Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) funded solely by the employee.
  • B) A Health Savings Account (HSA) paired with a high-deductible health plan (HDHP).
  • C) A Flexible Spending Account (FSA) paired with a preferred provider organization (PPO).
  • D) A traditional indemnity plan with a supplemental accident policy.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

A Health Savings Account (HSA) is specifically designed to be paired with a high-deductible health plan (HDHP). Contributions to the HSA are tax-deductible, grow tax-free, and can be withdrawn tax-free for qualified medical expenses. HRAs are employer-funded only, and FSAs are not paired exclusively with HDHPs and have use-it-or-lose-it rules. Traditional indemnity plans do not inherently include HSAs.

Get the 25-question sample set by email

Want a full-exam practice set to study offline? Drop your email — we'll send 25 questions across every content area, each with the answer and explanation.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Practice Questions 7-12: Long-Term Care, Disability Terms and Medigap

Long-term care benefit triggers, the elimination period, Medicare supplement foreign travel, HSA versus FSA, residual disability and FSA forfeiture.

Question 7 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts resident purchases an individual long-term care insurance policy. Which of the following is a common benefit trigger that must be met to receive benefits under this policy?

  • A) The insured must be hospitalized for at least 3 consecutive days.
  • B) The insured must experience a loss of income due to disability.
  • C) The insured must be diagnosed with a terminal illness with less than 6 months to live.
  • D) The insured must be unable to perform at least two activities of daily living (ADLs) or suffer from severe cognitive impairment.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Benefits under a long-term care insurance policy are typically triggered when the insured is unable to perform a specified number of activities of daily living (ADLs), such as bathing, dressing, or eating (usually two or more), or suffers from severe cognitive impairment requiring substantial supervision. Hospitalization, income loss, or terminal illness are not standard benefit triggers for long-term care insurance.

Question 8 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts resident is evaluating disability income policies and wants to understand how the elimination period affects benefit payments. Which statement accurately describes the elimination period in a disability income policy?

  • A) It is the maximum duration for which benefits will be paid during a disability period.
  • B) It is the period during which the insured must be hospitalized before benefits become payable.
  • C) It is the waiting period after the policy is issued before coverage for pre-existing conditions begins.
  • D) It is the time between when the disability begins and when benefit payments start, similar to a deductible but measured in time.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

The elimination period in disability income insurance is the waiting period after the onset of disability before benefits begin, functioning like a time-based deductible. Option A describes the benefit period, not the elimination period. Option B incorrectly ties the elimination period to hospitalization, which is not a standard requirement. Option C confuses the elimination period with a pre-existing condition waiting period, which is separate and not a standard feature of disability income policies.

Question 9 (Chapter 4)

Which of the following is a standard provision in a Medicare supplement (Medigap) policy sold in Massachusetts that ensures coverage when traveling outside the United States?

  • A) The preventive care benefit, which covers annual check-ups and screenings worldwide.
  • B) The prescription drug benefit, which covers medications purchased abroad.
  • C) The skilled nursing facility benefit, which applies only within the U.S.
  • D) The foreign travel emergency benefit, which covers 80% of emergency care costs outside the U.S. after a $250 deductible, up to a lifetime limit.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Medigap plans C, D, F, G, M, and N include a foreign travel emergency benefit that pays 80% of emergency care costs outside the U.S. after a $250 deductible, with a lifetime limit of $50,000. This is a standardized provision in those plans. Options A, B, and C are incorrect: Medigap does not cover preventive care or prescription drugs, and the skilled nursing facility benefit applies only within the U.S. The foreign travel benefit is the only one addressing international coverage.

Question 10 (Chapter 4)

Which of the following is a key feature of a Health Savings Account (HSA) that distinguishes it from a Flexible Spending Account (FSA)?

  • A) HSAs are only available to individuals enrolled in Medicare.
  • B) HSAs require the account holder to obtain a referral to use funds for medical expenses.
  • C) HSAs allow funds to roll over from year to year, while FSAs generally do not (except for limited carryover or grace period).
  • D) HSAs are funded solely by employer contributions, with no employee contributions allowed.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

A key distinguishing feature of an HSA is that funds roll over indefinitely from year to year, allowing accumulation over time. In contrast, FSAs are generally 'use-it-or-lose-it' accounts, though some plans may offer a limited carryover (up to $610 for 2023) or grace period. HSAs are available to individuals with high-deductible health plans (HDHPs), not exclusively to Medicare enrollees (making A incorrect). HSAs do not require referrals to use funds (making B incorrect). HSAs can be funded by both employer and employee contributions (making C incorrect).

Question 11 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts resident is evaluating disability income policies and notes that the policy includes a residual disability benefit. What does this benefit provide?

  • A) A full benefit if the policyholder is totally disabled and unable to work in any occupation.
  • B) A benefit that pays only if the disability results from an accident, not illness.
  • C) A partial benefit if the policyholder can work but experiences a loss of income due to the disability.
  • D) A benefit that increases annually to keep pace with inflation.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

A residual disability benefit provides a partial payment when the insured can still work but suffers a loss of income (e.g., 20% or more) due to the disability. It is not limited to total disability (making A incorrect). It applies to disabilities from both illness and accident (making B incorrect). While some policies may offer inflation protection riders, the residual benefit itself is not an inflation adjustment (making D incorrect).

Question 12 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts employer offers a Flexible Spending Account (FSA) as part of its cafeteria plan. An employee elects to contribute $2,000 annually to the health FSA. In March, the employee incurs $1,800 in qualified medical expenses and then terminates employment. What happens to the unused $200 in the FSA?

  • A) The $200 is forfeited to the employer under the use-it-or-lose-it rule.
  • B) The employee receives a refund of the $200.
  • C) The employee can submit claims for the $200 until the end of the plan year.
  • D) The unused amount rolls over to the next year up to $500.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Health FSAs operate under a use-it-or-lose-it rule: if an employee terminates employment, they can only submit claims for expenses incurred while employed. Any unused funds remaining at termination are forfeited to the employer. Option B is incorrect because refunds are not allowed. Option C is wrong because claims must be for expenses incurred during employment. Option D describes an HSA or limited FSA rollover, which does not apply to standard health FSAs upon termination.

Practice Questions 13-17: Accounts, Hospital Indemnity and Benefit Timing

Hospital indemnity arithmetic, AD&D exclusions, group eligibility, waiver of premium in long-term care and when the first disability payment arrives.

Question 13 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts resident purchases an individual hospital indemnity insurance policy that pays $200 per day for hospitalization. If the insured is hospitalized for 5 days due to pneumonia, how much will the policy pay, assuming no other provisions affect the benefit?

  • A) $1,000
  • B) $200
  • C) $500
  • D) $1,200
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Hospital indemnity policies pay a fixed daily amount for each day of hospitalization, regardless of actual expenses. Here, $200 per day for 5 days equals $1,000. Option B is the daily benefit only. Option C incorrectly calculates 2.5 days. Option D assumes 6 days. The benefit is triggered by confinement and paid per day.

Question 14 (Chapter 4)

Under a Massachusetts group disability income policy offered through an employer, which statement is true regarding portability when an employee leaves their job?

  • A) Coverage can be continued indefinitely at the same group rate.
  • B) The employee has no right to continue coverage after termination.
  • C) Portability is only available if the employee is retiring.
  • D) The employee may convert the group policy to an individual policy without evidence of insurability.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Many group disability income policies include a conversion privilege that allows departing employees to convert their group coverage to an individual policy without providing evidence of insurability, although the premium rate will typically be higher than the group rate. This is a standard feature to prevent gaps in coverage. Option A is incorrect because continuation is not indefinite and may not be at the same rate. Option B is too absolute; conversion rights often exist. Option C is incorrect as portability applies upon termination for any reason, not just retirement.

Question 15 (Chapter 4)

A key employee disability income policy is owned by a Massachusetts business on its top salesperson. If the salesperson becomes disabled and receives benefits under this policy, who receives the disability income payments?

  • A) The disabled salesperson directly.
  • B) The salesperson's spouse or dependents.
  • C) A buy-sell agreement trustee.
  • D) The business that owns the policy.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

In a key employee disability income policy (also called key person disability insurance), the business is both the owner and beneficiary of the policy. The purpose is to provide the business with funds to offset financial losses resulting from the key employee's absence, such as lost profits or recruitment and training costs. The disabled employee does not receive the benefits directly; the business does. Options A, B, and D describe benefits payable under individual disability income, family protection policies, or business disability buyout arrangements, respectively.

Question 16 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts resident purchases a group long-term care insurance policy through their employer. The policy includes a waiver of premium provision. Which statement accurately describes when this provision applies?

  • A) The waiver of premium applies only if the insured is receiving skilled nursing care in a licensed facility.
  • B) The waiver of premium applies after the elimination period has been satisfied and benefits are being paid.
  • C) The waiver of premium applies immediately upon the onset of any qualifying long-term care event, regardless of benefit eligibility.
  • D) The waiver of premium applies only to individual long-term care policies and is not available in group policies.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

B is correct because the waiver of premium provision in long-term care insurance typically becomes effective after the elimination period has been satisfied and the insured is receiving covered benefits, meaning the insurer waives further premium payments while benefits are being paid. A is incorrect because the waiver is not limited to skilled nursing care; it applies to any level of care that triggers benefit eligibility. C is incorrect because the waiver does not apply immediately upon onset; it requires satisfaction of the elimination period and benefit eligibility. D is incorrect because waiver of premium provisions are commonly available in both individual and group long-term care policies.

Question 17 (Chapter 4)

A Massachusetts resident purchases an individual disability income policy with a 90-day elimination period. They become totally disabled due to an illness on January 1. Assuming the disability continues without interruption, when will the first monthly benefit payment be made, assuming benefits are paid in arrears at the end of each month?

  • A) April 1
  • B) April 30
  • C) May 1
  • D) May 30
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

The elimination period is a waiting period after the onset of disability before benefits begin. A 90-day elimination period starting January 1 ends on March 31 (Jan 31 + Feb 28/29 + Mar 31 = 90 days). Benefits are typically paid in arrears, meaning the first payment covers the first month after the elimination period ends (April) and is paid at the end of that month, April 30. Options A and C incorrectly suggest payment at the start of a month, and D incorrectly uses May 30, which would be the end of the second month after the elimination period.

The Mistakes That Cost Marks

Choosing a product for the wrong purpose. A business overhead expense policy pays business expenses, not the owner's salary or a buyout, and a key employee policy is a different arrangement again.

Counting illness as an accident. AD&D pays for accidental loss, so an illness such as a heart attack is excluded, as are suicide and war.

Forgetting the elimination period when finding the first payment. Benefits start after the waiting period and are usually paid in arrears, so the first check arrives later than the date the period ends.

Mixing HSA and FSA rules. The HSA is paired with a high-deductible plan and its balance rolls over, while an FSA is generally use-it-or-lose-it.

Misreading long-term care triggers. Benefits generally depend on inability to perform activities of daily living or severe cognitive impairment, not on a hospital stay.

Misreading a fixed daily benefit. A hospital indemnity policy multiplies the daily amount by the days, regardless of actual expense.

Your Next Step

Keep going with the course preview, which pairs the audio lessons with quiz practice for this part of the outline. For every set in one place, see the Massachusetts Life & Health practice questions hub.

Free: 25 Massachusetts L&H practice questions

Liked this article? Get 25 exam-style questions emailed to you — with full answer explanations, no credit card. Closest thing to studying offline.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Study this topic with LanePrep

Listen to these audio chapters on your commute — no screen required.

Related Articles

Ready to start studying?

Listen to Chapter 1 free — no signup required. Audio lessons you can take anywhere.