17 Free Massachusetts Life & Health Practice Questions: Accident & Health Policy Provisions and Social Insurance (2026)
How This Set Fits the Exam
This set covers policy provisions, clauses and riders, plus social insurance. On the Massachusetts Accident, Health, or Sickness outline, Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders is Section II with 15 scored items, and Social Insurance is Section III with 6. The required and optional provisions come from G.L. c. 175 §108(3) on the state-law side.
The vocabulary here is exact, and the exam rewards candidates who can separate neighboring terms.
Practice Questions 1-6: Elimination Periods, Waivers and Social Security
The elimination period, waiver of premium, the illegal occupation provision, change of occupation and Social Security disability benefits.
Question 1 (Chapter 5)
An individual in Massachusetts purchases a disability income policy with a 90-day elimination period. The insured becomes disabled on January 1 and is unable to work. When will benefits first be payable, assuming the disability continues?
- A) January 1
- B) April 1
- C) January 31
- D) March 31
Show answer & explanation
Answer: B
The elimination period is the number of days that must pass after the onset of disability before benefits are payable. A 90-day elimination period starting January 1 means benefits begin on the 91st day, which is April 1 (January has 31 days, February has 28 days in a non-leap year, March has 31 days: 31+28+31=90, so day 91 is April 1). Options A, C, and D are incorrect because they either ignore the elimination period or miscalculate the end date.
Question 2 (Chapter 5)
Which of the following best describes the purpose of a 'waiver of premium' rider in a Massachusetts disability income policy?
- A) It waives the elimination period if the insured is hospitalized.
- B) It increases the monthly benefit amount by 50% after one year of disability.
- C) It allows the insured to change occupations without affecting coverage.
- D) It exempts the insured from paying premiums during a period of total disability.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: D
A waiver of premium rider in a disability income policy means that if the insured becomes totally disabled, the insurer waives the requirement to pay premiums for the duration of the disability, keeping the policy in force without payment. Option A confuses it with an elimination period waiver, which is not standard. Option B describes a benefit increase, not premium waiver. Option C relates to occupation change, which is addressed by other provisions or riders, not waiver of premium.
Question 3 (Chapter 5)
Under Social Security, which of the following benefits is available to a disabled worker who has not yet reached full retirement age?
- A) Retirement benefits
- B) Survivors benefits
- C) Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
- D) Disability benefits
Show answer & explanation
Answer: D
Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) provides benefits to disabled workers who have earned sufficient work credits and are unable to engage in substantial gainful activity, regardless of age, as long as they have not reached full retirement age. Option A is incorrect because retirement benefits require reaching age 62 or older. Option B is incorrect because survivors benefits are paid to family members of deceased workers. Option C is incorrect because SSI is a needs-based program for aged, blind, or disabled individuals with limited income and resources, and is not tied to work history like SSDI.
Question 4 (Chapter 5)
In Massachusetts, which statement is true regarding the 'illegal occupation' provision in an individual disability income policy?
- A) The insurer can deny a claim if the disability results from an injury sustained while committing a felony.
- B) The policy is automatically void if the insured changes to an illegal occupation after the policy is issued.
- C) The insurer will not pay a loss if the insured's disability occurs while engaged in an occupation prohibited by law.
- D) The insurer must refund all premiums if the insured is incarcerated.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: C
The illegal occupation provision states that the insurer is not liable for a loss if the insured's disability begins while the insured is engaged in an occupation that is illegal under federal, state, or local law. Option A is incorrect because the provision is not limited to felonies; it applies to any illegal occupation. Option B is incorrect because the policy is not voided; the provision only excludes coverage for losses occurring during the illegal occupation. Option D is incorrect as there is no automatic premium refund for incarceration.
Question 5 (Chapter 5)
A Massachusetts resident purchases an individual disability income policy that includes a waiver of premium rider. The insured becomes totally disabled and begins receiving monthly disability benefits. What happens to the premium payments for the policy while the disability continues?
- A) The insurer waives (does not require) the payment of premiums for as long as the insured remains disabled and eligible for benefits.
- B) The insured must continue paying premiums to keep the policy in force, or it will lapse.
- C) The premiums are doubled to fund the disability benefits being paid.
- D) The premiums are added to the disability benefit amount and paid out as a lump sum.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: A
A waiver of premium rider in a disability income policy stipulates that if the insured becomes totally disabled (as defined in the policy) and begins receiving disability benefits, the insurer will waive the requirement to pay premiums for the policy. This ensures the policy remains in force without the insured having to pay premiums during the period of disability. The waiver typically continues for as long as the disability persists and the insured remains eligible for benefits. Option B is incorrect because premiums are not required during the disability period. Options B and D describe actions that do not occur under this rider.
Question 6 (Chapter 5)
In Massachusetts, a disability income policy includes a 'change of occupation' provision. The insured, who was employed as a construction worker when the policy was issued, later accepts a job as an office administrator. What is the likely effect on the policy, assuming the insurer is notified?
- A) The policy is automatically terminated due to the change in occupation.
- B) The insured must now prove total disability to receive benefits, whereas before only residual disability was required.
- C) The premium may be adjusted to reflect the lower risk associated with the new occupation.
- D) The benefit amount is doubled because the new occupation is considered safer.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: C
The change of occupation provision in a disability income policy allows for an adjustment of the premium (either increase or decrease) when the insured changes to a different occupation, based on the risk associated with the new job. Moving from construction work (higher risk of injury) to office administration (lower risk) typically results in a premium reduction, as the likelihood of a disability claim decreases. The policy is not terminated (A), the definition of disability does not change based on occupation alone (B), and the benefit amount is not automatically doubled (D). The insurer may adjust the premium to reflect the new risk classification, subject to the policy's terms and underwriting guidelines.
Get the 25-question sample set by email
Want a full-exam practice set to study offline? Drop your email — we'll send 25 questions across every content area, each with the answer and explanation.
No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.
Practice Questions 7-12: Preexisting Conditions, Grace Periods, Medigap and Clauses
The preexisting condition limitation, a lapse and grace period scenario, change of occupation, impairment riders, how Medigap works with Medicare and the consideration clause.
Question 7 (Chapter 5)
In Massachusetts, which of the following best describes the 'preexisting condition' limitation as it typically appears in an individual health insurance policy?
- A) It allows the insurer to deny any claim related to a condition diagnosed before the policy's effective date, regardless of when treatment occurs.
- B) It requires the insured to pay double premiums for any condition diagnosed prior to enrollment.
- C) It is prohibited under Massachusetts law for all individual health insurance policies.
- D) It may exclude coverage for conditions diagnosed or treated within a specified period (e.g., 6 or 12 months) before the policy's effective date, for a defined time after enrollment.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: D
A preexisting condition limitation in a health insurance policy typically excludes coverage for medical conditions that were diagnosed, treated, or for which symptoms were present within a specified look-back period (commonly 3 to 6 months) before the policy's effective date. The exclusion usually applies for a defined period after enrollment (e.g., 6 or 12 months), after which coverage for the condition may be provided. It does not allow denial of all related claims indefinitely (A), does not require double premiums (B), and is not prohibited under Massachusetts law (C)—while the Affordable Care Act and Massachusetts health reform law restrict such exclusions in certain markets, traditional individual health insurance policies (outside of guaranteed issue frameworks) may still include them, and the exam tests knowledge of standard policy provisions.
Question 8 (Chapter 5)
A Massachusetts resident purchases an individual disability income policy with a 30-day probationary period for sickness and a 15-day grace period for premium payments. The policy lapses due to nonpayment of premium on June 10. The insured pays the overdue premium on June 20 and is hospitalized on June 22 for an illness that began on June 18. How will the insurer likely handle the claim for hospitalization?
- A) The claim will be denied because the illness began during the grace period when coverage was not in force.
- B) The claim will be paid in full because the grace period keeps coverage in force and the illness occurred after reinstatement.
- C) The claim will be denied because the policy was not reinstated; only the grace period applies.
- D) The claim will be paid, but the overdue premium will be deducted from the benefit because the illness occurred during the grace period.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: D
The grace period (15 days) keeps coverage in force from the due date until June 25 (June 10 + 15 days). The insured paid the premium on June 20, during the grace period, so the policy never lapsed; it remained in force continuously. The illness began on June 18, during the grace period, so coverage was in force. However, if a claim occurs during the grace period, the insurer may deduct the overdue premium from the claim payment. The probationary period for sickness (30 days) does not apply here because the policy was already in force beyond that period when the illness began. Option A is incorrect because coverage was in force during the grace period. Option B is incorrect because the overdue premium is deductible. Option C is incorrect because the policy did not lapse; the grace period prevented lapse.
Question 9 (Chapter 5)
In Massachusetts, which of the following is true regarding the 'change of occupation' provision in an individual disability income policy?
- A) The policy automatically terminates if the insured changes to any occupation.
- B) The insured must continue working in the original occupation to remain eligible for benefits.
- C) If the insured changes to a more hazardous occupation and does not notify the insurer, the insurer may only pay a proportional benefit based on the new occupation's risk.
- D) The provision only applies if the insured becomes unemployed.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: C
The change of occupation provision requires the insured to notify the insurer of a change in occupation. If the new occupation is more hazardous and the insurer is not notified, the insurer may only pay a benefit proportional to what the premium would have purchased in the more hazardous occupation (often called the 'insurance amount' adjustment). The policy does not automatically terminate, the insured is not required to stay in the original occupation, and the provision is not tied to unemployment status.
Question 10 (Chapter 5)
In Massachusetts, a disability income policy includes an 'impairment rider' that excludes coverage for disabilities arising from a preexisting knee condition. The insured later becomes disabled due to a back injury. Which of the following is true regarding coverage for the back injury?
- A) The back injury is covered because the impairment rider only applies to the specified knee condition.
- B) The back injury is not covered because the impairment rider excludes all disabilities.
- C) The back injury is covered only if the insured provides proof that the knee condition did not contribute to the back injury.
- D) The back injury is not covered because impairment riders apply to any disability occurring after the rider is attached.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: A
An impairment rider (or exclusion rider) excludes coverage only for the specific condition or conditions listed in the rider. It does not affect coverage for unrelated disabilities, such as a back injury in this case. Therefore, the back injury would be covered assuming it meets the policy's definition of disability.
Question 11 (Chapter 5)
A Massachusetts resident is enrolled in Medicare Part A and Part B. They also have a private Medigap policy. Which of the following best describes how the Medigap policy works with Original Medicare?
- A) Medigap pays first, and Medicare pays any remaining costs up to its limits.
- B) Medigap replaces Medicare, and the insured no longer receives benefits from Part A or Part B.
- C) Medicare pays first, and Medigap pays some or all of the remaining costs, such as deductibles and coinsurance.
- D) Medicare and Medigap pay simultaneously, each covering 50% of the eligible expenses.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: C
Medigap policies are designed to supplement Original Medicare by paying some or all of the out-of-pocket costs (like deductibles, coinsurance, and copayments) after Medicare has paid its share. Medigap does not pay first, replace Medicare, or pay a fixed percentage simultaneously.
Question 12 (Chapter 5)
Under a Massachusetts health insurance policy, which of the following best describes the function of the 'consideration clause'?
- A) It specifies the amount of premium and the frequency of payments.
- B) It allows the insured to change beneficiaries without insurer consent.
- C) It states that the policy will be incontestable after two years.
- D) It requires the insurer to pay claims within 30 days of receipt of proof of loss.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: A
The consideration clause in an insurance contract states what each party gives in exchange: the insured pays premiums, and the insurer promises to pay benefits under the policy's terms. It does not address beneficiary changes, incontestability, or claim payment timing. Option A correctly identifies that it specifies premium amount and payment frequency. Options B, C, and D describe other provisions: beneficiary changes relate to the change of beneficiary provision, incontestability to the time limit on certain defenses, and claim payment timing to the time of payment of claims provision.
Practice Questions 13-17: Impairment Riders, Probation and Payment of Claims
Impairment riders, the probationary period, the consideration clause and the time of payment of claims.
Question 13 (Chapter 5)
Which of the following best describes the purpose of an 'impairment rider' (also called an exclusion rider) in an individual health insurance policy in Massachusetts?
- A) To increase the death benefit if the insured suffers a specified impairment.
- B) To exclude coverage for losses resulting from a specified preexisting condition.
- C) To waive premiums if the insured becomes impaired and unable to work.
- D) To allow the insured to increase coverage amounts without evidence of insurability.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: B
B is correct because an impairment rider, or exclusion rider, is designed to exclude coverage for specific preexisting conditions, meaning the insurer will not pay benefits for losses arising from that condition. A is incorrect as impairment riders do not increase death benefits; they limit coverage. C is incorrect because waiver of premium is a separate rider, not related to impairment riders. D is incorrect as the ability to increase coverage without evidence of insurability describes a guaranteed insurability or future increase option rider, not an impairment rider.
Question 14 (Chapter 5)
Which of the following best describes the 'probationary period' in an individual health insurance policy issued in Massachusetts?
- A) The time during which the insured must pay premiums to keep the policy in force after a lapse.
- B) A period at the beginning of the policy during which coverage for sickness is not provided, but coverage for accidents is effective immediately.
- C) The time the insurer has to investigate a claim before making a payment decision.
- D) The period during which the insured must be disabled before benefits begin under a disability income policy.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: B
The probationary period, typically 10 or 30 days, applies only to sickness coverage at the inception of the policy. During this period, no benefits are payable for sickness, but accident coverage is effective immediately. This prevents adverse selection by individuals purchasing coverage after already becoming ill. Option A describes reinstatement, not probationary period. Option C refers to claim investigation timelines, not probationary period. Option D describes the elimination period, which applies to disability income policies, not the probationary period in health insurance.
Question 15 (Chapter 5)
In Massachusetts, a health insurance policy includes an 'impairment rider' that excludes coverage for disabilities arising from a preexisting back condition. The insured later becomes disabled due to a heart attack. Which of the following is true regarding coverage for the heart attack?
- A) The heart attack is not covered because it is a preexisting condition.
- B) The heart attack is covered because the impairment rider only excludes back-related disabilities.
- C) The heart attack is covered only if the insured provides proof of insurability.
- D) The heart attack is not covered because the impairment rider excludes all disabilities.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: B
An impairment rider (or exclusion rider) specifically excludes coverage for losses resulting from the named condition only—in this case, a preexisting back condition. It does not affect coverage for other conditions, such as a heart attack, unless the heart attack is directly caused by the excluded condition (which is not indicated). Therefore, the heart attack disability would be covered. Option A is incorrect because the heart attack is not a preexisting back condition. Option C is wrong; proof of insurability is not required for a non-excluded condition. Option D is false; the rider does not exclude all disabilities, only those from the specified condition.
Question 16 (Chapter 5)
Which of the following best describes the 'consideration clause' in an individual health insurance policy issued in Massachusetts?
- A) It states that the policy, the application, and any attached riders constitute the entire agreement.
- B) It indicates that the premium paid by the insured is the consideration for the insurer's promise to pay benefits.
- C) It allows the insured to increase benefits without evidence of insurability.
- D) It excludes coverage for preexisting conditions.
Show answer & explanation
Answer: B
The consideration clause in an insurance policy indicates that the premium paid by the insured is the consideration (the price paid) for the insurer's promise to provide coverage and pay benefits. The entire contract provision states that the policy, application, and riders form the complete agreement. The future increase option rider allows increasing benefits without evidence of insurability, and preexisting condition exclusions are handled by separate provisions or riders.
Question 17 (Chapter 5)
Under a Massachusetts health insurance policy, which provision requires the insurer to pay claims immediately upon receipt of due proof of loss, or in the case of monthly indemnity, not less than once a month?
- A) Payment of claims
- B) Time of payment of claims
- C) Proof of loss
- D) Notice of claim
Show answer & explanation
Answer: B
The 'time of payment of claims' provision specifies that benefits must be paid immediately upon receipt of due proof of loss, or periodically (e.g., monthly) for ongoing losses. The 'payment of claims' provision determines to whom benefits are paid (e.g., insured, physician, hospital). 'Proof of loss' is the documentation the insured must submit, and 'notice of claim' is the initial notification to the insurer.
The Mistakes That Cost Marks
Confusing the elimination period with the probationary period. The elimination period applies to disability income and delays benefits after disability begins; the probationary period is at the start of the policy and applies to sickness, not accidents.
Treating an impairment rider as broader than it is. It excludes the named condition only, so a different injury or illness is still covered.
Misapplying the grace period. If the premium is paid within the grace period, the policy never lapsed, and a claim for an illness that began in that window can still be paid.
Thinking a change of occupation ends the policy. The provision lets the insurer adjust premium or benefits for a more hazardous occupation.
Swapping provisions by function. Consideration is about premium and promise, time of payment of claims is about when benefits are paid, and proof of loss and notice of claim are different steps.
Mistaking Medigap for a replacement. Medicare pays first, and the supplement pays some or all of the cost-sharing.
Your Next Step
Keep going with the course preview, which pairs the audio lessons with quiz practice for this part of the outline. For every set in one place, see the Massachusetts Life & Health practice questions hub.
Free: 25 Massachusetts L&H practice questions
Liked this article? Get 25 exam-style questions emailed to you — with full answer explanations, no credit card. Closest thing to studying offline.
No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.
Study this topic with LanePrep
Listen to these audio chapters on your commute — no screen required.
Related Articles
How to Pass the Massachusetts Life & Health Exam on the First Try (2026)
10 min read
$299 First Try: Massachusetts Life & Health License Cost 2026
9 min read
25 Free Massachusetts Life & Health Exam Practice Questions (2026)
25 min read
Is the Massachusetts Life & Health Exam Hard? Pass Rates and Difficulty (2026)
6 min read
How Many Questions Are on the Massachusetts Life & Health Exam? Format, Time Limit and Passing Score (2026)
5 min read
17 Free Massachusetts Life & Health Practice Questions: Life Policy Riders, Provisions, Options and Exclusions (2026)
13 min read
17 Free Massachusetts Life & Health Practice Questions: Life Application, Underwriting and Delivery (2026)
13 min read
17 Free Massachusetts Life & Health Practice Questions: Accident & Health Types of Policies (2026)
13 min read