17 Free Nevada Health Insurance Exam Practice Questions (2026)

17 min read|Updated 2026-10-28

How to Use This Health Insurance Question Set

Nevada's health questions draw on the Accident and Health-General Knowledge part of Pearson VUE's content outline: 50 scored items in five sections, Types of Policies at 16, Policy Provisions, Clauses and Riders at 15, Social Insurance at 6, Other Insurance Concepts at 5 and Field Underwriting Procedures at 8. On the combined Life and Health exam it is one of three parts, alongside 50 scored items of Life-General Knowledge and 44 of Nevada-specific law.

Candidates who take Health as its own single-line exam face 98 items, 88 of them scored, in 2 hours 15 minutes for $37, with the same scaled score of 70 as the passing standard, a score on a 0-100 scale and not a count of questions answered correctly. That exam can be taken at a Pearson VUE test center or online through OnVUE, where a candidate gets two attempts before any further attempt has to be at a test center. Nevada requires no pre-licensing course, and resident applicants are fingerprinted after they apply for the license, not before the exam.

These 17 questions come from Chapters 5 and 6 of LanePrep's Nevada Life & Health quiz bank, none of them repeated from the free 25-question sample across the whole exam: 6 on health and disability products (Chapter 5) and 11 on health policy provisions, underwriting and social insurance (Chapter 6). On the combined exam those chapters are worth 16 and 34 of the 144 scored items, which is the 50-item Accident and Health-General part. The grouping is LanePrep's, not Pearson VUE's: Chapter 5 teaches the Types of Policies section, and Chapter 6 teaches the other four sections together. Nevada law is sampled in the free 25-question set. Each question shows its chapter, so a miss tells you exactly which audio lesson to replay.

For context, the NAIC's first-time pass rate on the single-line Health exam was 59.0 percent in 2024 and 58.2 percent in 2025, with test center and online candidates combined in both years.

Work them before you read the answer. Every question has the explanation folded underneath it. Guessing and then reading is worth more than reading and then agreeing.

Practice Questions 1-6: Activities of Daily Living, Any Occupation, the Birthday Rule, Felony Exclusions, Partial Disability and Vision Frequency Limits

Chapter 5 opens the Health set with types of policies: the activity of daily living that can trigger benefits under a long-term care policy, how an "Any Occupation" definition limits who counts as totally disabled, and which of two group health plans pays first for a child covered under both parents' plans. It then asks which injury a standard health policy typically excludes, what a disability policy pays a carpenter who can still do part of his job, and what the first number in a vision plan's frequency limit means.

Question 1 (Chapter 5)

Which of the following is a standard 'Activity of Daily Living' (ADL) used as a trigger for benefits in a Long-Term Care (LTC) policy?

  • A) Driving a vehicle
  • B) Cooking a three-course meal
  • C) Speaking a second language
  • D) Transferring (moving in and out of a bed or chair)
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

LTC policies typically trigger benefits when the insured cannot perform 2 out of 6 ADLs. The standard ADLs are bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, continence, and eating.

Question 2 (Chapter 5)

An individual disability income policy uses the 'Any Occupation' definition of total disability. This means the insured will receive benefits only if they:

  • A) Cannot perform the duties of their own specific job.
  • B) Cannot perform any job whatsoever, including manual labor.
  • C) Are confined to a hospital bed.
  • D) Cannot perform the duties of any occupation for which they are reasonably suited by education, training, or experience.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

The 'Any Occupation' definition is stricter than 'Own Occupation.' It requires that the insured be unable to work in any job that fits their background and education.

Question 3 (Chapter 5)

A child is covered under both parents' group health plans. The father's birthday is January 15th, and the mother's birthday is March 10th. According to the 'Birthday Rule,' which plan is primary?

  • A) The father's plan, because his birthday comes first in the calendar year.
  • B) The mother's plan, because March is later in the year.
  • C) The father's plan, because he is typically the head of household.
  • D) Whichever parent has been employed longer.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

The Birthday Rule states that the primary plan for a dependent child is the plan of the parent whose birthday (month and day) falls earlier in the calendar year.

Question 4 (Chapter 5)

Which of the following scenarios would typically be EXCLUDED from coverage under a standard individual health insurance policy?

  • A) An injury sustained while the insured was participating in a professional soccer match.
  • B) An illness contracted while traveling on vacation in Europe.
  • C) An injury sustained while the insured was committing a felony.
  • D) A chronic condition diagnosed three years after the policy was issued.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Standard health insurance exclusions include injuries sustained while committing a felony, self-inflicted injuries, acts of war, and injuries covered by Workers' Compensation.

Question 5 (Chapter 5)

A carpenter injures his hand and can still perform some duties of his job, but he cannot work full-time or perform all the tasks he did before. His disability policy pays him 50% of his total disability benefit. This is known as:

  • A) Residual Disability
  • B) Partial Disability
  • C) Recurrent Disability
  • D) Presumptive Disability
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Partial Disability benefits are typically paid when an insured can perform some but not all duties, or can work only part-time. It usually pays a flat 50% of the total disability benefit for a limited time.

Question 6 (Chapter 5)

A vision insurance policy specifies a '12/24/24' frequency limit. What does the '12' typically refer to?

  • A) The maximum dollar amount for frames.
  • B) The number of months between eye examinations.
  • C) The number of lenses allowed per year.
  • D) The grace period for premium payments.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Frequency limits in vision insurance (e.g., 12/24/24) usually mean one exam every 12 months, one set of lenses every 24 months, and one set of frames every 24 months.

Get the 25-question sample set by email

Want a full-exam practice set to study offline? Drop your email — we'll send 25 questions across every content area, each with the answer and explanation.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Practice Questions 7-12: Notice of Claim, Social Security Disability Waiting Periods, Partial Disability, Waiver of Premium, Recurrent Disability and Work Injuries

Chapter 6 supplies the rest of the set, beginning with policy provisions: the date by which a claimant should notify the insurer of a covered loss on March 1st, then the waiting period for Social Security Disability Insurance benefits and the definition of partial disability. Three more disability questions follow: what a Waiver of Premium rider does after the insured has been disabled for several months, how a Recurrent Disability provision treats a relapse, and how a non-occupational policy responds to an injury at work.

Question 7 (Chapter 6)

A claimant suffers a covered loss on March 1st. Under the mandatory Notice of Claim provision, by what date should the claimant ideally notify the insurer?

  • A) March 11th
  • B) March 15th
  • C) June 1st
  • D) March 21st
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

The Notice of Claim provision (NRS 689A.090) requires the insured to give written notice of a claim to the insurer within 20 days after the occurrence or commencement of any loss covered by the policy, or as soon thereafter as is reasonably possible.

Question 8 (Chapter 6)

In the context of Social Security Disability benefits, what is the 'waiting period' before an individual can begin receiving benefit payments?

  • A) 5 months
  • B) 30 days
  • C) 90 days
  • D) 12 months
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) requires a 5-month waiting period. Benefits begin with the 6th full month of disability.

Question 9 (Chapter 6)

A disability that is characterized by the inability to perform some, but not all, of the duties of one's occupation is known as:

  • A) Partial Disability
  • B) Total Disability
  • C) Residual Disability
  • D) Recurrent Disability
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Partial disability is the inability to perform one or more important duties of the job. It often pays 50% of the total disability benefit for a short period.

Question 10 (Chapter 6)

An insured's disability income policy includes a 'Waiver of Premium' rider. The insured becomes totally disabled on February 1st and remains disabled for seven months. The insured continued to pay premiums during the first six months of disability. Which of the following occurs?

  • A) The insurer will refund the premiums paid during the first six months and waive future premiums while the disability continues.
  • B) The insurer will only waive premiums starting from the seventh month forward.
  • C) The rider only applies if the insured is hospitalized.
  • D) The insured must pay all premiums until the end of the year, then receive a tax credit.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

A Waiver of Premium rider typically requires a waiting period (usually 90 days or 6 months). Once the waiting period is met, the insurer waives future premiums and retroactively refunds the premiums paid during the waiting period.

Question 11 (Chapter 6)

An insured suffers a heart attack and is disabled for 4 months, then returns to work full-time. Two months later, the insured suffers a relapse of the same heart condition and is disabled again. Under the 'Recurrent Disability' provision, what happens?

  • A) The second disability is treated as a continuation of the first, and no new elimination period is required.
  • B) The insured must satisfy a new elimination period.
  • C) The insurer will deny the claim as a pre-existing condition.
  • D) The policy is automatically canceled for high risk.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

A Recurrent Disability provision defines a period of time (usually 6 months) during which a recurrence of the same or related disability will be considered a continuation of the prior claim, meaning the insured does not have to satisfy a new elimination period.

Question 12 (Chapter 6)

An insured is injured while working at their job. Their individual health policy is 'non-occupational.' How will the policy likely respond?

  • A) It will pay the claim in full.
  • B) It will pay the claim, but then subrogate against the employer.
  • C) It will pay 50% of the claim.
  • D) It will exclude the claim because the injury is covered by Workers' Compensation.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

A 'non-occupational' policy excludes coverage for injuries or illnesses that occur on the job and are covered by Workers' Compensation. Most group and many individual health policies are non-occupational.

Practice Questions 13-17: Replacement Notices, Privacy Notices, Residual Disability, Medigap Open Enrollment and HSA Eligibility

Chapter 6 closes the Health set with paperwork and cost questions: the form the producer and applicant both sign when a client replaces a health policy, when a health plan must give an insured its Notice of Privacy Practices, and how to calculate a residual disability benefit for an insured who returns to work part-time. The last two questions cover Medicare supplement coverage and Health Savings Accounts: how long the guaranteed Medigap open enrollment period lasts for someone who has just enrolled in Medicare Part B, and which type of health plan an individual must have to open and contribute to an HSA.

Question 13 (Chapter 6)

A producer is helping a Nevada client replace an existing health insurance policy. Both the producer and the applicant must sign a specific document that lists the reasons why the replacement is beneficial and warns about the potential loss of benefits. What is this document called?

  • A) Buyer's Guide
  • B) Notice Regarding Replacement
  • C) Policy Summary
  • D) Certificate of Authority
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

In a replacement transaction, the producer must provide and sign a 'Notice Regarding Replacement' with the applicant. This form ensures the applicant is aware of the consequences of replacing coverage, such as new waiting periods or different exclusions.

Question 14 (Chapter 6)

Under HIPAA regulations, when must a health insurance provider give a 'Notice of Privacy Practices' to an insured?

  • A) Only if the insured specifically requests it in writing.
  • B) Only when a claim is denied due to medical history.
  • C) At the time of policy delivery and at least once every three years thereafter.
  • D) Within 90 days of a policy lapsing.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

HIPAA requires health plans to provide a Notice of Privacy Practices at the time of enrollment and to notify individuals at least once every three years that the notice is available.

Question 15 (Chapter 6)

An insured has a disability income policy with a 'Residual Disability' benefit. He normally earns $5,000 per month. After an injury, he returns to work part-time and earns $3,000 per month. If his total disability benefit is $3,000, how much will the residual benefit pay?

  • A) $2,000
  • B) $1,200
  • C) $3,000
  • D) $800
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Residual disability benefits are calculated as a percentage of the loss of income. He lost $2,000 of his $5,000 income, which is a 40% loss. The benefit is 40% of his total disability benefit ($3,000 x 0.40 = $1,200).

Question 16 (Chapter 6)

A 65-year-old individual just enrolled in Medicare Part B. For how long does she have a guaranteed right to buy any Medicare Supplement (Medigap) policy offered in Nevada regardless of her health status?

  • A) 30 days
  • B) 1 year
  • C) 6 months
  • D) Permanently, as long as she is 65
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

The Medigap Open Enrollment Period lasts for 6 months, beginning the first day of the month in which the individual is both 65 or older and enrolled in Medicare Part B. During this time, insurers cannot use medical underwriting.

Question 17 (Chapter 6)

To be eligible to open and contribute to a Health Savings Account (HSA), an individual must be covered by what type of health plan?

  • A) A Health Maintenance Organization (HMO)
  • B) Medicare Part B
  • C) A High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP)
  • D) A standard PPO with a $250 deductible
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

HSAs are only available to individuals enrolled in a High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP) that meets specific IRS requirements for minimum deductibles and maximum out-of-pocket limits.

The Mistakes That Cost Marks

Treating everyday tasks as the benefit trigger. A long-term care policy typically pays when the insured cannot perform a set number of the standard Activities of Daily Living: bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, continence and eating. Transferring means moving in and out of a bed or chair. Driving a vehicle, cooking a meal and speaking a second language are not ADLs, however demanding they are.

Blurring the disability definitions. An Any Occupation definition is stricter than Own Occupation. The insured counts as totally disabled only when unable to perform the duties of any occupation for which education, training or experience reasonably suit the insured, not merely the insured's own job and not every conceivable job. Partial disability applies when an insured can perform some but not all of the duties of the job, or can work only part-time, and it usually pays a flat share of the total disability benefit for a limited period. Questions 5 and 9 test it from two directions. Residual disability pays in proportion to lost income instead: divide the income lost by the income before the disability, then apply that percentage to the total disability benefit. Question 15 is that calculation.

Misreading waiting periods and relapses. A Waiver of Premium rider has a waiting period. Once the insured has been disabled that long, the insurer waives future premiums for as long as the disability continues and refunds the premiums paid during the waiting period. A Recurrent Disability provision defines a period during which a relapse of the same or a related condition counts as a continuation of the earlier disability, so no new elimination period is required. In question 11 the relapse falls inside that period, so the second disability continues the first.

Choosing the primary plan for the wrong reason. Under the Birthday Rule, the primary plan for a dependent child is the plan of the parent whose birthday, counting month and day only, falls earlier in the calendar year. The year of birth, the head-of-household label and the length of employment do not matter.

Expecting every injury to be covered. Standard exclusions in an individual health policy include injuries sustained while committing a felony, self-inflicted injuries, acts of war and injuries covered by Workers' Compensation. The other options in question 4, professional sport, an illness on vacation abroad and a chronic condition diagnosed years after issue, are not the standard exclusions the question is looking for. A non-occupational policy excludes injuries and illnesses that occur on the job and are covered by Workers' Compensation, so the claim in question 12 is excluded, not paid in full, paid in part or paid and then recovered from the employer.

Reading limits and waiting periods the wrong way. A vision plan's frequency limit lists, in order, how often the plan pays for an exam, lenses and frames, and each figure counts months. The first figure is the number of months between eye examinations, not a dollar amount for frames, a lens count or a grace period. Social Security Disability Insurance has a waiting period counted in full months, and benefits begin only after it ends. It is not the elimination period of a private policy.

Confusing the claim clocks. Notice of claim is the first clock: the insured gives written notice within the number of days the provision sets, counted from the date the loss occurs or begins. In question 7, count forward from the March 1st loss date. Proof of loss is a separate and later requirement. Nevada's individual health policy provisions call for written proof of loss within 90 days (NRS 689A.110) and require claims to be paid immediately upon due written proof (NRS 689A.120).

Mixing up the required notices. When a client replaces existing health coverage, the producer and the applicant both sign a Notice Regarding Replacement, which lists the reasons for the replacement and warns of the possible loss of benefits. A Buyer's Guide, a Policy Summary and a Certificate of Authority are different documents. The Notice of Privacy Practices that federal health privacy rules require is given when coverage starts, and the plan must remind insureds at regular intervals that it is available. It is not limited to written requests, claim denials or policy lapses.

Misjudging Medigap and HSA eligibility. The Medigap open enrollment period is a fixed number of months that begins on the first day of the month in which the person meets the age requirement and is enrolled in Medicare Part B. During it, insurers cannot refuse a policy or charge more because of health status. It is neither a brief grace window nor a permanent right, and Nevada regulates Medicare supplement policies under NAC 687B.220, .226 and .250. To open and contribute to a Health Savings Account, an individual must be covered by a High Deductible Health Plan that meets the minimum deductible and maximum out-of-pocket limits set by the tax rules. A standard PPO with a low deductible fails that test, an HMO qualifies only if it meets the same limits, and Medicare Part B is not a high deductible health plan.

Your Next Step

How did you score?

13 or more correct: You're clearing most of the health sections. Move to the Life insurance exam set next, then read how to pass the Nevada Life & Health exam on the first try for the full study plan.

9-12 correct: You're in reasonable shape but not comfortable. Note which chapter your misses fell in and replay that chapter's audio lesson before retesting.

Under 9 correct: Start with Chapter 5 of the LanePrep Nevada Life & Health course and work forward through Chapter 6 rather than testing yourself again right away. A free preview is available at /nv/l-and-h/preview, no signup required.

For a 25-question sample across the whole exam, see the free practice set.

Exam format, fees and content outline item counts from Pearson VUE's Nevada Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook (publication 122900, October 2024) and Nevada Insurance Content Outlines (publication 122903, 07/2026 edition); passing score from NAC 683A.270; individual health policy provisions from NRS 689A; Medicare supplement rules from NAC 687B; pass rates from the NAIC compiled pass-rate workbooks for 2024 and 2025. Read October 2026.

Free: 25 Nevada L&H practice questions

Liked this article? Get 25 exam-style questions emailed to you — with full answer explanations, no credit card. Closest thing to studying offline.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Study this topic with LanePrep

Listen to these audio chapters on your commute — no screen required.

Related Articles

Ready to start studying?

Listen to Chapter 1 free — no signup required. Audio lessons you can take anywhere.