17 Free North Carolina P&C Practice Questions: Commercial Casualty Coverages (2026)

12 min read|Updated 2026-10-23

How to Use This Commercial Casualty Coverages Set

Commercial casualty coverages fall under Section III: 15 scored items on the Casualty exam and 10 on the Property exam. For the Casualty exam this is the biggest block of insurance knowledge after personal lines.

This set covers Coverage B of the commercial general liability policy, aggregate and per-occurrence limits, business auto and non-owned autos, additional insured status, the commercial umbrella and its retention, workers' compensation disability classes and premium rating, crime forms and surety.

These 17 questions come from LanePrep's North Carolina P&C quiz bank. Read the policy trigger in each stem before you choose.

Practice Questions 1-6: CGL, Commercial Auto, Crime and Workers' Compensation Basics

Match the exposure to the coverage part: advertising injury, hired and non-owned autos, assigned risk, loss sustained timing and intentional injury.

Question 1 (Chapter 5)

A marketing agency’s CGL policy includes Coverage B for personal and advertising injury. The agency distributes a flyer that unintentionally contains a false statement about a competitor’s product, resulting in a libel lawsuit. Which element of Coverage B is triggered?

  • A) Defamation of a private individual
  • B) Invasion of privacy
  • C) Wrongful termination of an employee
  • D) Libel, a form of written defamation
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

Coverage B protects against personal and advertising injury, which includes libel (written defamation). The flyer’s false statement is libelous, so Coverage B applies. A is incorrect because the plaintiff is a competitor, not a private individual. B and C are not covered under Coverage B.

Question 2 (Chapter 5)

A restaurant’s CGL policy contains a supplementary payments provision that states the insurer will pay defense costs "in addition to the limits of liability." How does this affect the aggregate limit of $1,000,000 for Coverage A?

  • A) Defense costs are subtracted from the $1,000,000 aggregate limit.
  • B) Defense costs are only paid if the claim is settled, not if it goes to trial.
  • C) The provision is void under G.S. 58‑63‑20, so defense costs are not covered.
  • D) Defense costs are paid separately and do not reduce the $1,000,000 aggregate limit.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

When the policy states that defense costs are paid "in addition to" the limits, the insurer pays those costs separately; they do not reduce the aggregate limit. A describes the opposite arrangement. B is incorrect; defense costs are payable regardless of settlement or trial. C misapplies the unfair trade practices statute; the provision is valid.

Question 3 (Chapter 5)

A small manufacturing firm located in a county that does not have a workers’ compensation insurance pool seeks coverage. Which mechanism allows the firm to obtain workers’ comp insurance under North Carolina law?

  • A) Purchase a surplus lines workers’ comp policy
  • B) Apply for a self‑insurance exemption under G.S. 58‑33‑150
  • C) Obtain a commercial general liability policy that includes workers’ comp endorsement
  • D) Enroll in the State Assigned Risk Plan for workers’ compensation
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

North Carolina’s Assigned Risk Plan provides workers’ compensation coverage for employers who cannot obtain coverage in the voluntary market. Surplus lines (A) are not used for workers’ comp. Self‑insurance (B) requires a rigorous approval process and is not the default option. A CGL policy (C) does not provide workers’ comp coverage.

Question 4 (Chapter 5)

A retailer purchases a Crime coverage policy that uses the "loss sustained" form. Which of the following statements best describes the timing of coverage under this form?

  • A) Coverage attaches when the loss is discovered, even if the loss occurred months earlier.
  • B) Coverage attaches at the time the insured first learns of the loss, regardless of when the loss occurred.
  • C) Coverage attaches only after a police report is filed, irrespective of the loss date.
  • D) Coverage attaches when the loss actually occurs, and the insured must report it within the policy’s notice period.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

A loss‑sustained (or loss‑occurrence) form provides coverage when the loss actually occurs; the insured must give notice within the policy’s specified period. The loss‑discovery form (not used here) would attach at discovery. Therefore D is correct. A and B describe the discovery form. C adds an unnecessary police‑report requirement.

Question 5 (Chapter 5)

A sales representative uses his personal vehicle to deliver product samples to customers during business hours. The company’s Commercial Auto policy includes owned, hired, and non‑owned auto coverage. Which coverage applies to the representative’s personal vehicle?

  • A) Owned auto coverage, because the vehicle is used for business purposes.
  • B) Hired auto coverage, because the employee is a temporary driver.
  • C) Non‑owned auto liability coverage, because the vehicle is not owned by the insured.
  • D) Physical damage coverage, because the vehicle is insured against collision.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

Non‑owned auto liability provides coverage for liability arising from the use of a vehicle not owned by the insured but used in the course of business. The vehicle remains the employee’s personal auto, so owned or hired coverage does not apply. Physical damage coverage is not triggered because the policy does not automatically provide physical damage for non‑owned autos.

Question 6 (Chapter 5)

An employee intentionally self‑inflicts a hand injury while on the job. The employer files a workers’ compensation claim for temporary total disability. Which statement is correct regarding coverage?

  • A) Workers’ compensation will pay benefits because the injury occurred on the employer’s premises.
  • B) Workers’ compensation will pay only the medical expenses, not disability benefits.
  • C) Workers’ compensation will deny benefits because intentional injury is excluded under G.S. Chapter 97.
  • D) Workers’ compensation will pay a reduced benefit because the injury was self‑inflicted.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

North Carolina workers’ compensation law excludes benefits for injuries that are the result of intentional self‑inflicted harm. The location of the injury does not override the exclusion. Options A, B, and D are incorrect because the exclusion applies to all benefits, not just a portion.

Get the 25-question sample set by email

Want a full-exam practice set to study offline? Drop your email — we'll send 25 questions across every content area, each with the answer and explanation.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Practice Questions 7-12: Umbrella, Defense, Additional Insureds and Premium

Excess coverage, the duty to defend, endorsements that create insured status, disability classifications and a premium built from payroll, rate and modification factor.

Question 7 (Chapter 5)

A business has a $2,000,000 Commercial Umbrella policy that sits on top of a $1,000,000 CGL and a $500,000 Business Auto policy. The business suffers a $300,000 workers’ compensation claim. How much, if any, will the umbrella policy pay?

  • A) $300,000, because the umbrella provides excess for any liability.
  • B) $250,000, after applying the self‑insured retention.
  • C) $50,000, because the umbrella will fill the gap between the claim and the CGL limit.
  • D) $0, because workers’ compensation is not an underlying coverage.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

A commercial umbrella provides excess only for underlying coverages that are listed in the policy (typically CGL, commercial auto, and employers’ liability). Workers’ compensation is not an underlying coverage, so the umbrella does not apply. Options A, B, and C incorrectly assume the umbrella extends to workers’ comp.

Question 8 (Chapter 5)

During a lawsuit alleging false advertising, the insured’s CGL policy includes a supplementary payments provision for defense costs. The insurer attempts to deny defense costs, citing lack of coverage. Under G.S. 58‑63‑15 (Unfair Trade Practices), what is the insurer’s obligation?

  • A) The insurer may deny defense costs because the claim is groundless.
  • B) The insurer must only pay defense costs if the claim is proven to be covered after trial.
  • C) The insurer can deny defense costs if the insured fails to cooperate with the investigation.
  • D) The insurer must provide a defense, even if the claim is groundless, because defense costs are a supplementary payment.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

North Carolina law requires insurers to act in good faith. CGL policies expressly provide for defense costs as a supplementary payment, which the insurer must furnish regardless of the claim’s merit. Option A is wrong because the duty to defend is independent of claim merit. Option B is wrong because defense is provided before a final judgment. Option C is wrong because while cooperation is required, the insurer still must provide a defense unless the insured’s breach is material and excused.

Question 9 (Chapter 5)

A subcontractor adds a general contractor as an "additional insured" on its CGL policy by virtue of a contractual clause, but the endorsement was never signed. The general contractor is sued for bodily injury that occurred on the subcontractor’s site. Which statement is most accurate?

  • A) The general contractor is not covered because the endorsement was not executed.
  • B) The general contractor is automatically covered because the contract requires it.
  • C) The general contractor is covered only for damages arising from the subcontractor’s negligence.
  • D) The general contractor is covered for any liability arising from the subcontractor’s operations.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Additional insured status is created by an endorsement actually attached to the policy; a clause in the construction contract obliges the subcontractor to obtain it but does not by itself amend the policy. Because the endorsement was never executed, the general contractor is not an insured. Therefore A is correct. B is wrong because the contract alone is insufficient. C and D assume coverage exists, which it does not.

Question 10 (Chapter 5)

An employee suffers a back injury at work that prevents him from performing his previous job but allows him to work part‑time in a lighter‑duty position. Under North Carolina workers’ compensation definitions, this injury is classified as:

  • A) Temporary total disability
  • B) Permanent partial disability
  • C) Temporary partial disability
  • D) Permanent total disability
Show answer & explanation

Answer: C

The employee can perform some work, albeit at reduced capacity, which fits the definition of temporary partial disability (TPD). Temporary total disability (TTD) requires inability to work at all. Permanent disabilities are not applicable because the condition is expected to improve. Therefore C is correct.

Question 11 (Chapter 5)

A construction firm has a $2,000,000 Commercial Umbrella policy with a $100,000 self‑insured retention (SIR). The firm's underlying coverages, a $500,000 CGL policy and a $250,000 Business Auto liability policy, both exhaust their limits responding to a third‑party lawsuit. The loss remaining above those exhausted underlying limits is $1,200,000. How much will the Umbrella policy pay?

  • A) $1,200,000
  • B) $1,000,000
  • C) $1,100,000
  • D) $900,000
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Both underlying policies responded and exhausted their limits, so the umbrella pays the entire $1,200,000 that remains, within its $2,000,000 limit. The $100,000 self-insured retention applies only to losses that no underlying policy covers and is never deducted again when the underlying limits have been paid. Options B, C and D each subtract amounts the policy does not deduct.

Question 12 (Chapter 5)

A North Carolina employer has an experience modification factor of 1.2, a manual rate of $15 per $100 of payroll, and an actual payroll for the policy period of $800,000. Under North Carolina's workers' compensation rating rules, what is the employer's premium for the policy period?

  • A) $144,000, calculated as ($800,000 ÷ 100 × $15) × 1.2.
  • B) $120,000, calculated by ignoring the experience modification factor.
  • C) $9,600, calculated as $15 × 1.2 without applying it to the payroll.
  • D) $150,000, calculated as $15,000 × 10.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

The manual premium is the rate applied per $100 of payroll: ($800,000 ÷ 100) × $15 = $120,000. Applying the 1.2 experience modification factor gives $120,000 × 1.2 = $144,000. Option B omits the modification factor. Options C and D do not correctly apply the rate to the payroll.

Practice Questions 13-17: Notices, Crime Timing, CGL Limits, Surety and Disability Benefits

Limits applied in sequence, a mandatory posting duty, crime timing, performance bonds and wage-based benefits.

Question 13 (Chapter 5)

A North Carolina employer fails to post the required Notice of Workers' Compensation Coverage in a conspicuous place at the workplace. Under North Carolina law, which of the following is accurate regarding the employer's exposure for this violation?

  • A) The Industrial Commission may impose a penalty on the employer for the violation.
  • B) No penalty can ever be imposed, because posting the notice is only a recommended best practice.
  • C) The only possible consequence is suspension of benefits for affected employees.
  • D) The violation automatically voids the employer's workers' compensation coverage entirely.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

Posting the Notice of Workers' Compensation Coverage is a statutory duty under the Workers' Compensation Act, and an employer who fails to do so may be penalized by the Industrial Commission. Option B is wrong because posting is mandatory, not merely advisory. Option C is wrong because a benefit suspension for employees is not how this employer-facing posting violation is addressed. Option D is wrong because failing to post a notice does not itself cancel the employer's coverage.

Question 14 (Chapter 5)

A North Carolina Commercial Crime policy uses a loss sustained form. An employee embezzles $100,000 over 12 months but is terminated before discovery. The theft is discovered 6 months after termination, and the policy was in effect for the entire 18-month period. Under North Carolina’s crime coverage terms, which statement is correct?

  • A) The claim is covered because the theft occurred during the policy period, and the loss was sustained within the coverage’s discovery window.
  • B) The claim is excluded because the theft was discovered after the employee’s termination, violating the policy’s discovery condition.
  • C) The claim is covered only if the employee’s termination was unrelated to the theft.
  • D) The claim is excluded because the policy only covers theft discovered within 6 months of the policy’s end date.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

The correct answer is A because a loss sustained form covers theft occurring during the policy period, regardless of when it is discovered, provided the loss was sustained (i.e., the money was taken) while the policy was active. B is incorrect because discovery time does not void coverage under a loss sustained form. C is incorrect because the policy does not condition coverage on the reason for termination. D is incorrect because the loss sustained form has no discovery deadline—only the occurrence date matters.

Question 15 (Chapter 5)

A North Carolina‑based landscaping company purchases a Commercial General Liability (CGL) policy with a $1,000,000 aggregate limit and a $750,000 per‑occurrence limit for Coverage A. During a routine job, an employee accidentally damages a neighbor's irrigation system (property damage) and injures a pedestrian (bodily injury) in the same incident. The total claim is $750,000. Two weeks later, a separate incident occurs where a customer slips on a wet walkway, resulting in a $300,000 medical claim. Under North Carolina's CGL policy terms, how much will the insurer pay in total for these claims?

  • A) $1,000,000 (the aggregate limit is exhausted by the first claim alone)
  • B) $1,250,000 (both claims are paid in full, with the aggregate limit treated as applying separately to each occurrence)
  • C) $750,000 (only the first claim is covered because the second exceeds the per‑occurrence limit)
  • D) $1,000,000 (the first claim is paid in full, and the second is capped at the $250,000 remaining under the aggregate limit)
Show answer & explanation

Answer: D

The first occurrence ($750,000) is within the $750,000 per-occurrence limit and is paid in full, leaving $250,000 of the $1,000,000 aggregate limit. The second occurrence ($300,000) exceeds that remaining $250,000, so only $250,000 of it is payable. Total paid: $750,000 + $250,000 = $1,000,000. Option A is wrong because the first claim alone does not equal the aggregate limit. Option B is wrong because the aggregate limit applies to the combined total of all occurrences, not separately to each one. Option C is wrong because the second claim does not exceed the per-occurrence limit; it is limited by the remaining aggregate instead.

Question 16 (Chapter 5)

A North Carolina surety bond is issued for a public works project where the obligor (owner) requires a performance bond from the principal (contractor). The bond amount is $500,000. If the contractor fails to complete the project and the owner suffers a $400,000 loss, which party is secondarily liable for paying the obligee (owner) under the bond terms?

  • A) The principal (contractor) is secondarily liable after the surety pays.
  • B) The obligee (owner) is secondarily liable if the surety refuses to pay.
  • C) The surety is secondarily liable only if the principal is insolvent.
  • D) No party is secondarily liable; the surety pays the full amount.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: A

In a performance bond, the surety is primarily liable for paying the obligee (owner) if the principal (contractor) defaults. However, the principal (contractor) is secondarily liable—meaning the surety can seek reimbursement from the principal after paying the claim. Option B is wrong because the obligee is not liable. Option C is wrong because the surety’s liability is not contingent on the principal’s insolvency. Option D is wrong because secondary liability exists under North Carolina’s surety bond law (G.S. 58-70-1 et seq.).

Question 17 (Chapter 5)

A North Carolina workers' compensation claim is filed for an employee who suffers a temporary total disability (TTD) after a workplace injury and remains completely unable to work. Which statement about her TTD benefits is accurate?

  • A) TTD benefits are not paid in North Carolina; only medical expenses are covered.
  • B) TTD benefits are calculated as a percentage of her average weekly wage, subject to the statutory maximum, while she remains unable to work.
  • C) TTD benefits equal her full average weekly wage with no statutory maximum.
  • D) TTD benefits are a fixed dollar amount set annually, regardless of the employee's wage.
Show answer & explanation

Answer: B

Temporary total disability benefits are calculated as a percentage of the employee's average weekly wage, capped at a statutory maximum, and continue while the employee remains unable to work. Option A is wrong because TTD benefits are paid, not just medical expenses. Option C is wrong because the benefit is a percentage of wages subject to a statutory cap, not the full wage. Option D is wrong because the benefit is wage-based, not a flat annual figure.

The Mistakes That Cost Marks

Applying the aggregate to each occurrence. The aggregate caps the combined payments across occurrences, whatever the per-occurrence limit.

Assuming a contract creates additional insured status. The endorsement must actually be attached to the policy.

Expecting an umbrella over workers' compensation. The umbrella sits over listed underlying liability coverages, and workers' compensation is not one of them.

Deducting the retention twice. When the underlying limits have been exhausted by payments, the retention is not deducted again.

Confusing loss-sustained and discovery timing. A loss-sustained form follows when the loss occurred, a discovery form follows when it was found.

Your Next Step

Pick the chapter where you missed the most questions and go back to its audio lesson, then retest. For the full list of sets, see the free North Carolina P&C practice question hub. To see how the audio lessons and quizzes work, try the course preview.

Free: 25 North Carolina P&C practice questions

Liked this article? Get 25 exam-style questions emailed to you — with full answer explanations, no credit card. Closest thing to studying offline.

No spam. Just the questions and one optional follow-up.

Study this topic with LanePrep

Listen to these audio chapters on your commute — no screen required.

Related Articles

Ready to start studying?

Listen to Chapter 1 free — no signup required. Audio lessons you can take anywhere.